Live Visual Performance using openFrameworks

in #newyork7 years ago

For about a year I was recording and performing with the NYC based City Girl. There sound is very dark kind of mix of post-punk electronic but also has a modern sensibility to it that is reminiscent of bands like Little Dragon or The Juan Maclean, in the realm of the well curated DFA records. After my year stint of having a significant role as a synth player and backup vocalist for the band I was asked to create a visual show for the live performance.

They had already done a great job at translating their heavy synth and electronic drum sound to a live performance, so I needed to create a piece of software that would translate in the same way visually. I wanted the flexibility to be able to cue up generative visuals running real-time code but also get enough expression out of my software that would allow me to give as much energy to the performance as with a guitar or drums.

Night Shining Live Graphics Performance 1

I developed the performance software with openFrameworks, restricting myself as a creative practice, to work heavily within it's core. The visuals consisted of many patterns, complex generative shapes, and minimal use of color. I performed with them live on multiple occasions at notable New York City venues such as 'Mercury Lounge', 'Glasslands', and 'Pianos' with an Akai MPD 24. I decided to perform without the assistance of FFT analysis, but instead develop my own unique real-time parameters for each visual scene, of which there were several for each song of the set.

Check out the CityGirl soundcloud page to listen!

Night Shining Live Graphics Performance at Piano's NYC

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61402.08
ETH 3386.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49