A Year Off Steemit - But Why?

in #newyears4 years ago (edited)

It has nearly been a year since I last logged into Steemit. Last time I did, my wallet balance showed me to be a billionaire. Of course, it was a wild glitch that only lasted for a few hours that day, but boy oh boy, did it get me excited.

Of course, today I log in and see my wallet is only worth 34 dollars, plus change. What a difference. That is low even without a glitch. At one point, my wallet was in the hundreds. I must admit, I don't understand block chain and cyber currency very well, so I don't give much credit to the wallet. I just enjoy sharing my thoughts. So, here goes...

I figured I would reflect a bit on 2019, as it is almost over. This will be a pretty significant New Years since we are rolling into a new decade. Plus, 2020 is epic. I remember being a kid in the 70's and thinking 2020 would be like living on the Jetson's.

I guess in a way, we are kind of the Jetson's. After all, I have a smart phone, GPS to track my kid, robots to vacuum my floor, an Alexa to turn on lights and talk to me ... smart cars, smart watches, smart coffee makers,smart fridges, smart apps .... even drones and hover boards. It certainly is alot like the Jetson's, these days.

Although, sometimes I wonder if we are any smarter with all these smart devices? Heck, I am an English teacher and I still need Google to spell half the time. I still don't know how to download apps on my phone and the Alexa thing was so creepy, I threw it away. I can barely find my way to a store without Google Maps, I'd have no idea how to make coffee without electricity, and most of my students don't know how to dial a rotary phone or read a clock.

How smart is that?

Heck, had I not found an old computer, I would never have even figured out how to log into Steemit again. Brilliant, eh?

I think my 2020 resolution will be to get back to basics. I watched a video recently about a woman who lost everything in the real estate crash and so started homesteading. She is completely self sufficient now, The idea of being able to live off the land like settlers in the old days is pretty intriguing to me. It makes sense to prepare, too. Living in Florida, I have dealt with hurricanes before. I remember going without electric and water for weeks. It was tough but survival was so satisfying. I might try it as a lifestyle.

So, what do you think? Could you make it without the basics like electricity, not to mention all the devices we run off that electricity? Have smart devices made us dumb?

I am going to spend 2020 finding out. And, if I don't log back into Steemit for another year, Happy 2020!!

Make it yours!!
God bless you, Gator!

Sort:  

Congratulations @gatorlynne! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20