Welcome to My Life

in #newyears3 years ago

Erik%20Stanclik%20at%20Skydive%20Sydney-Wollongong%20-%2017.jpg

"I'll be back in two years," I told my friends.

My name is Erik, and I am a young man living in Sydney, Australia. I was born and raised by Polish immigrant parents in Long Island, New York, and for the first 20 or so years of my life, that was the only place I ever knew as home. I always dreamed of visiting Australia, a distant dream that I wasn't sure would ever be made into a reality.

One day I decided… "Fuck it", and six months later, I was moving to Australia to pursue a Masters Degree in Occupational Therapy, with the plan of coming back to the states after completing the two-year program.

IMG_0099.JPG

It's been nearly eight now, and in many ways coming here has been the best decision of my life and is my crowning achievement in making a goal and following through with it. My brain, and life by extension, has always been a chaotic mess; I am constantly making goals to better my life, but following through with them is generally a very different matter.

I was recently diagnosed with ADHD… which explains a lot. I hyper-fixate on things and get these grand ideas and plans but lack the motivation and mental endurance to bring them to light. There have been many things over the years that I've wanted to accomplish but always end up giving up or becoming distracted and moving on to the next thing my brain decides to fixate on:

I want to learn to draw.

I want a job other than the standard "9-5".

I want to be in shape and go to the gym regularly.

I want to travel the world.

I always wanted to be a writer.

This year I want to change all that, and I want to bring out the best in me. I want to begin accomplishing my goals, which brought me to this site today. I will start blogging and will keep writing at regular intervals. I'm not sure where this will take me or what I will be writing about, but there's only one way to find out.

This is my story; this is my life. I will record my journey of self-discovery and hopefully interest those that stumble their way onto this page.

Happy New Year, everybody, and welcome to 2022.

...Also, I have a puppy, and his name is Ollie.

IMG_1324.jpeg

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45