Steemph.cebu New Year Challenge | My Steemit New Year Resolution

in #newyearchallenge7 years ago (edited)

New year has always been one of the most awaited time of the year next to Christmas. The various round fruits served at the table of each household, the no-chicken recipe as it is believed to bring bad luck in the year to come, the ear-splitting sound of firecrackers your siblings love to make just to scare you - Oopsy!, the sublime fireworks we all love to witness and most especially the gift of togetherness we all share with our family are what we always look forward to every new year. What a wonderful celebration, huh?

b.gif
source

In our family, as I review all the new year celebrations I can recall, we never had the usual preparation and observance like many others. My mother and my two younger brothers are always busy preparing for puto cheese orders. My father does the delivery of our special puto cheese without a single peso in his pocket; he walks at most 15 kilometers in total just to deliver all the orders. My sister does the cleaning and arrangement. While I act as the treasury department -- collecting, counting and liquidating what my father remits. Despite of that kind of set up, we're always making sure that we can still celebrate new year with the remainder of puto cheese orders, a bottle of softdrinks and bam-i on our wooden table.

New year's eve has always been this way until one gloomy day came. I was sorting out the laundry when I found something inside my youngest brother's favorite pants from ukay-ukay -- a crumpled paper stating his new year's sentiments. I was crying while reading his views and wishes.

"I envy my classmates because they eat a lot during Christmas and new year while we're busy making puto cheese. I want to try those firecrackers sold outside the gate of our school, too. I want to try caroling instead of counting the cups. But I know we can't afford to lose our business for my wish." -- His non-verbatim message written on a piece of paper.

My eyes flowed with tears and I felt pity for my siblings for a second. From then on, making changes every new year has been my personal project. And for this year, I'm glad to share my 2018 New Year's Resolution with you my fellow Steemians.

c.gif
source

1. TIME FOR MY SIBLINGS

As their ate, I always make sure that they get what they need from school fees to personal contentment. But I have to be away from home to sustain their needs. So for this year, I will make sure to allocate some day-offs for them. What will I do with all the financial support I send them if I can't be there in flesh when they need me? I have supported them for almost 8 years now and I'm just 22 y/o. I guess I have to chill a bit and see them grow inch by inch for some time.

2. SHOW SOME WEAKNESS

I always get to be called the strong woman type by the people who has a little know-how of my life's story. Despite of being admired, I feel like living in sham and drudgery. For this year, I'm going to unravel a portion of my hidden face; removing the first layer of my mask. Because I want to live life like I want it -- free and real!

3. GET A LITTLE MORE INVOLVED

With me being careful about the revelation of my true identity, I hinder myself from growing with the rest. I always exclude myself from heart-to-heart talks most often. But now I'm ready to embark to truthfulness and be involved.

And I'm seeing Steemit as a great way for the realization of my new year's resolution! I see a lot of highly potential friends whom I can be comfortable with. In fact, I have already considered @smaeunabs, @ja9garnett and @jonnahmatias1016 as my friends -- real friends!

4. DEDICATION TO STUDY

I am not yet a licensed civil engineer but I will soon (MONTH OF MAY THIS COMING YEAR) claim it! As one of the people I looked up to once said,

"It's not about when you became an engineer, it's about how you became an engineer that matters."

In this new year, I promise to be more dedicated to reviewing my lessons and be more prepared for the upcoming Licensure Examination for Civil Engineers this coming May. Please wish me luck fellow Steemians! hehehe

5. REACH AND CONNECT WITH MORE PEOPLE

With my renewed spirit of going out of my comfort zone, might as well reach and connect with more people. First Sunday of January 2018, Sheila (@smaeunabs) and I have already made a plan. You'll soon know it!

Cheers to more social accomplishments for 2018!

6. INSPIRE AND SPREAD

I just had my first cash out yesterday, December 29, 2017 and I must say this one's for real! LOL! With the great opportunity I have received this year, it's too good not to share! So I'm gathering my friends from high school and college to get to know this platform.

With so many blessings I have received this year, I'm hoping to share all of it to the rest.

"I give not because I have many but because I know the feeling of having none."


Now, I'm ready to face 2018 with a bang! Bring it on!

a.gif
source

This post is an entry for @steemph.cebu's New Year's Challenge!. Thank you for reading it till the end. Commenting your views and opinions down below will be much more appreciated! HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Sort:  

Aja @nikkabomb! I declare abundance for 2018!

Makahilak mn sad ta ug popcorn ug nag nose bleed. I know 2018 will be the great year to you and to all of us. Expect the unexpected. But wait, waiting for the bonus for the first week of 2018. Hahahah

shudi hilak popcorn @jonnahmatias1016. OMG! apil ks bonus jo? hahaha

Cheers para sa 2018!

Dili popcorn d i niks coins ato ehilak ehhehe.. Yep of course hahha.magbinuotan sa ta.

hahaha coins jd? dollars uy hahahaha. sus pila ra kaha ang ako pirmi baya ko makasab'an hahaha LOL

hahahahahhaahahhahaha hmmmm magkano kaya bonus naten

ilibre nyo na lang ako ah hahaha

wooow nik this is soooo huhuhu
nakaremember pud ko sauna we used to make biko nga murag cake tan awon. kapoy pero wala tay mahems kay pagpangwarta man hahahah

yay ano kayang ganap sa Jan 2018 (First Sunday) hahaha

paita bitaw she nuh? pero ge lang thru steemit mahatagan na natong mas malipayonh bag'ong tuig atong pamilya.

hahaha basta may ganap tayo sa first sunday ah haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57