Weighing the Year - thoughts on approaching 2017

in #newyear8 years ago (edited)

Weighing the Year
life___death_by_day_light-d2gat313306b.jpg

"Life - Death", digital art by DilekGenc, at
http://dilekgenc.deviantart.com/art/Life-Death-148310461

The year’s closing strikes me as I cross the street to my day job this morning. The marks I’ve made, were they deep enough? The seeds I’ve planted, were they in fertile soil? The connections I’ve made, are they healthy? Have I worked on myself enough? If so, how am I different? These are my thoughts as the cool wet wind touches my face. The winter is approaching, a time for considering the current year’s gifts and plagues while preparing for the following year. These are markers in one’s life, but they are not everything. A year is a simple measure of time and not suited to hold all the answers. The loss of one and recognition of another does bring about many questions, however.

Many souls have moved forward, too many to mention here. Actors, musicians, artists, authors, athletes, friends, family, and more. Yet, many were born. The cycle of life is definitely spinning. In particular, the death of my friend in April inspired me to rise earlier and to be disciplined about my health and studies, as he was my age. I have fallen short in many ways, but that is no reason for discouragement. I am still here and fighting. Transformation is a lifestyle, not a quick fix.

I am grateful for the people in my life mostly, things will come and go. The people are absolutely amazing that I’ve had the honor of sharing my time with this year. I am still working to earn things, you see. Don’t let anyone in a Capitalist country tell you possessions aren’t important. They aren’t the whole, of course, but they are part of the story. The "day job" I referred to earlier is also part of this story. It is a temporary sore and not meant to sustain a healthy life, in my opinion. Health is holistic, including mind, spirit, and body. All sides must be considered. Money, possessions, owning a home, land, etc., all have a stake in this. You may disagree, that is fine. I know, however, in the upcoming year I will take control of my finances, become my own boss, and stand on firm ground. That is my declaration.

Though I journal and/or do some creative writing daily, I will also push myself to do more of the latter. My first novel, a science-fiction story, is yet to debut and has been resting, due to writing, recording, and producing music. I will release it, along with another solo album, in 2017, and more. Perhaps I will begin the novel’s sequel, more short stories, and poetry, who knows? Definitely more music is in store. I’m not sure I know how to stop any of these. I can only do my best to express these energies when they inspire me. When it all lines up, it is truly something to celebrate. Hopefully, you will be there with me.

-Mr. Fluid, 2016

Sort:  

You bring up some good questions we should all be asking ourselves. Will you be releasing your upcoming novel on Steemit or elsewhere?

Haven't considered how one would release a novel on Steemit, but I am definitely thinking e-book as well as paperback.

We've seen a number of authors on here release books 1 chapter at a time. If a particular chapter is too long, they'll sometimes break chapters down into several different posts.

That's interesting, and could work with me. My novel is just over 50 chapters, each 2-3 pages on average. Feedback and criticisms could be a good indication of how to move forward if I do it before going to print.

Although, I will need to learn more about posting here, in order to tell the story properly. For example: how to indent paragraphs, using more than one font if possible, centering symbols to mark change of scene, etc...

Inspiring stuff. Thanks ...

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62