The Hamish

in #newyear4 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1542873036.jpg

I woke up with my mouth set in a grim line.

Hogmanay.

That's what we Scots call the turning of the year.

It was time once again.

I swung my legs heavily out of bed and headed downstairs to where the knives were.

The Good Lady nodded sadly as I passed her on the stairs.

It's that time again Hamish, aye.

She said in a broad Scots accent. She called me Hamish too, that is how all Scotsmen are addressed on Hogmanay. It comes from the old Scot's term to kill a serpent in a storm.

Aye well, we are killers on Hogmanay. That is our legacy.

I ruffled the feathers of my children as I walked past them, thoughts dark with the deeds to come.

In the kitchen, I strapped the big and heavy killing knives, The Contos to my hands. The Good Lady entered and gently helped me take off my top.

Once my chest was bare she rubbed sour butter all over my torso until my skin glistened. Then she kissed my brow and passed me the Whisky.

I drank half the bottle in one fell swoop then poured the rest over my sour buttered chest, much of it splashed to the floor for the cats to drink.

Aye, it was Hogmanay for them too.

I wish you didn't have to.

She murmured.

It's Hogmanay, lass. A man has no choice.

We heard it then, the bone-horn of sorrow, sounding its lonely cry in the streets.

I made my way to the door, giving the Good Lady one last kiss on the brow.

Oh, Hamish. Please come back this time.

She pleaded.

Ah can make no promises, woman. But... I will do my best to keep the blood in here... in here.

I thumped my chest with the side of my knife hand and nodded curtly. Then I stormed out into the street.

Already a throng of we Hamish was streaming past, each of us armed with the heavy Contos.

My neighbour The Jim paused as he ran past.

HAMISH!!!

He yelled, his sour butter and whisky'd chest gleaming in the low sun of the Winter morning.

I raised my knives and roared in return.

HAMISH!!!!

I fell into step with the throng, breath huffing out in great clouds in the early morning sun. A great gathering of the Hamish stinking of whisky and sour butter. We shouted our battle cry.

HAMISH!!!!

HAMISH!!!

We picked up speed as we ran. The Contos strapped to our hands glinting in the dawn sun.

My heart was pounding, a snarl on my faces and the faces of the other Hamish as we ran faster.

Faster still.

To the hills, where the Hogmanish would be gathering...

Sort:  

Ha ha, love how you've given the festival of the turning of the year a viking-esque slant here.

I smell a follow up to this story, and it smells like sour butter and whiskey 🤣

Looking forward to a 'to be continued'... Maybe?

Happy Hogmanay m8

Hehe, sour butter and whisky will definitely be the scent of the morning!! I left an open ender just in case I had any strength tomorrow. I doubt it, lol. Cheers man, I hope you have a great Hogmanay!!!

What the Samhill is this sir meesterboom? lol. Is there some similar ancient ritual you pulled this from because it would make a tremendous start to a movie. Starring the great you of course. Your cats drink whisky?

Haha!! It was mostly from my imagination that one. Apart from the whisky!! I was feeling flippant!! :0)

Well it was ridiculously great sir meesterboom and the artwork was a killer!

You are so brave to face this all :) A bit of a waste of whiskey but I have a feeling you will get some more to drink. Love the way you paint a picture in my mind. Happy new year - may you and your family be blessed in 2020 and waiting for many more stories to come.

Happy new year to you and your family too!!

Hehe, I amused myself with that tale. Spoke of the things you hear about the Scottish are ridiculous!!

O but it is such a stunning "Brave heart" moment - and we believe everything we hear about the Scottish :)

Hehe, it's all true even the Hamish!!! :0D

Just when I thought I was going to be relatively zombie-apocalypse free for a little while XD

There's always room for a bit more zombie apocalypse!

May you return safely and have a great 2020 - I can just see you running down the street hahaha

Running down with the clan of HAMISH!! :0)

On this first day of the new year doesn't a Scot awake to find Haggis in their mouth and a fried mars bar on the bedstead :)

Happy New Year whatever it is, Happy Steemit 2020!

Haha, I do believe it is something like that!

Happy new something!! :0)

I hope your Hogmanay was enjoyable...Certainly it was sour-buttery and whisky-y...We don't have anything as cool here in Australia, or as fragrant.

Happy new year Hamish.

Cheers man and a happy new year to you and your lady too! We are an hour away!

An hour away and you can still type? Not enough wine intake I think. 😊

Hahaha, working on it!! :0D

As expected. Well, enjoy the rest of 2019. I'm in 2020...Heading to the beach. 😄

Normally I world say the beach.. bastard!!

Bit I will be on the beach on Friday in Lanzarote!! Woot woot!!!

Haha...Beach buddies! 😁

I was quite confused the whole way through, which kept me reading, as this confusion was well written. Now I have learned anew, and my ignorance is smitten! Great Scott! lol

Haha, confusion is a common thing when reading anything I write. Lol!!

Yes, but in the end, I am always satisfied. You do good work.

Your cats are very lucky, unless it was Bells and butter landing on the floor?

What happens next? Zombie Apocalypse vibes here!

Feels like an apocalypse today!!

I've not been outside for fear of stepping in blood and guts!

I was out earlier, it was like a bizarre ghost town!

And not a pavement pizza in sight?

Ha, not in the gentle burbs I stay in. In my old flat that would have been the pavement in its entirety!!

Mad as ever,never change Mr Boom
Happy New Year :)

Happy new year lass!!!!

Have a drink for the HAMISH!!! ;0)

Will do then blame you for my hangover. Have a good one :)

It's good too have someone to blame in advance ;0)

Yup it's all your fault. Its a right mess :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29