New year, new system: That's what we always say

in #newyear6 years ago (edited)

new-years-eve-1953253_960_720.jpg
Hello class, today we'll be talking about the usual New Year resolutions. Pardon the introduction; I just couldn't resist the urge to start off with a different style.
Everyone has made a New Year resolution to do different things, but truth be told, how many will adhere to those resolutions?

I remember some years ago when I was the new year resolution person, by December, I would have made a long list of things I wanted to do in the coming year and I would tell myself no matter what, those things would be adhered to.
Fast forward one week into the new year, I am pretty sure I will find myself repeating those same things I said I won't do.

An addiction sometimes appear impossible to break not because it is as gargantuan as we make it to be, but because we focus so hard on it that we forget to forget it

So I came up with that quote above and I am already giving myself a round of applause for it. The thing about resolutions is this, when we work so hard to keep them, we might end up breaking them because we focus too much on it, the desire to overpower it might lose its boost.

You cannot do something you don't even remember. An example is that of a person addicted to chewing gums, you might eventually forget to chew gums if you are occupied with other stuffs, and not remembering to even buy the gum in the first place.

The New Year, new system or new me method is just a way to encourage ourselves that we can do better if we try. Some people actually begin to feel like failures if they do not meet all their New Year resolutions.

new-year-3052105_960_720.jpg
While it is okay to feel bad if some goals are left upturned, it is wrong to totally categorize one’s self as a colossal failure for simply failing to meet certain goals. Instead of focusing on the ones which never came to fruition, why not build on the ones that you achieved and mark and celebrate those.

If your goal is not money related or for the betterment of your personality, there is a high likelihood that you might end up breaking it or compromising. This is neither a generalization nor a proven fact; it was merely drawn from observation.

When we make a resolution, we have to understand the gravity of the decision we are about undertaking, because a resolution is not complete without actions. Those actions must be firm and concise and like I said not every resolution can be achieved.

If your resolution is character related for instance, unless you try to forget your old self, you cannot gain a new one. You cannot put a new wine in an old wine skin. So whatever you choose to do this New Year, first of all ensure it is feasible and realistic, secondly, make sure it is something that won’t make you really need or want.

Happy New Year



You can follow me on twitter by clicking the icon



Thanks to @elyaque for the badge
Support @curie, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, @xeldal, @steemgigs for witness

You can help me boost my curation activities by following my curation trail on steemauto.com ( @ehiboss)

Images from pixabay


lion badge.png

Sort:  

I noticed your words: "An addiction sometimes appear impossible to break not because it is as gargantuan as we make it to be, but because we focus so hard on it that we forget to forget it."

This is true, I think ♦♦ And i appreciated these words - will NOW BEAR them in mind (ha .. whoops, I have to ACTUALLY FORGET ).

And I certainly believe - Peeps, that it IS a Better idea to Build on those goals that you achieved..

And a #TOOL that I use is called Goal-buddy.com ♦♦ It lets one get very detailed (& organized) on a Goal, whether that #goal happens to LAST for months, or years.

First, one describes (lists out) what you want to achieve -- and You decide IF It is a "Top Goal' for the year ♦♦ Next, a person determines how achieving said GOAL will Change one's Life/ When Accomplishing The Goal.

POINT: as u say, "if a goal isn't money related, or for the improvement of one's personality.. one could well wind up breaking it" ==> Here's a GOOD #BOOK to use (to Understand what makes a person tick ) - the book "Finding Your Own NORTH STAR" can HELP !

Do the EXERCISES in the Book (You'll do better in 2018 w/ Your goals & Self improvemt )

So this even another year? I guess it just occurred to me.
One thing i know about new year resolutions is that the fear that you might not keep them makes you not to eventually keep them. So what i do is, i go on living my life as if there is nothing new about the year because in actual sense, there is nothing new about the the year; it's just a change of date.
THANKS FOR SHARING THIS @ehiboss.

If only new year resolution of a thing works, how many people will keep going back to church. Let's work on ourselves and reflect through people's mirror. Happy New Year to you too boss

Just to be better at things I do and learn new things plus relate more to people. Not much of a new year resolution guy. All those fancy new year resolutions that most end up in trash bins of people's memory in the third week of January.

Happy New year Boss

Great content @ehiboss happy new year

"New Year resolutions " is a wave, everyone can ride it, little whose do as they say, so it's just like a "copy and past".

Truthful point bro even with a focused mindset sometimes we'll still find it hard to keep up when the resolutions we make due to one setback or the other. God help us all this new year. Happy new year bro

Happy new year....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52