New Year, New Job, New Outlook

in #newyear7 years ago

It seems like 2018 is the year of restarts in my circle of friends. Everybody had high expectations of 2017 when it began only to find hope slowly diminishing throughout the year. Most of this group (myself included) had solid positions at their places of employ in addition to being fairly critical to ensure smooth operations. As it turned out, 2017 was the year of employers not caring. We all got fed up, we all packed our stuff, found new jobs and took our knowledge and skills with us leaving our employers stumped and in some cases SOL.

This brings me to the point of my story. As I get older I am finding that more and more employers are not really interested in keeping their employees happy. There is much more of a use and abuse attitude in the workplace than a vested interest in employees. Why is it that so many business owners dont seem to understand that happy employees equals happy customers and thus creates a much more hospitable environment which in turn creates a more profitable business? Additionally I find that the less you worry about how much profit you make the more profit you actually net.

In my own case I managed to find a great deal. Another mechanic shop (M-chanics, for you long island, ny folks), whos owner knows my work , was so ecstatic that I was interested in working for him that he almost gave me half his business. I got a deal that was impossible to pass up and an immediate vested interest in the skills that add to the business. Incentive is everything. (I guess thats why its so crucial to cryptocurrency.) I've not even started working there and I'm already stacking up customers because I know I will want to be there for a long time. Plus, the more people I bring in, the more money I make. I just hope the rest of my circle makes out just good going into the new year.

Good luck to all of you in the year to come! Wouldn't it be great if everyone had a good deal?!

Sort:  

Congratulations @dasboxerturbo! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dasboxerturbo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61038.67
ETH 2626.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62