Hold my Hand

in #newwriter4 years ago

Take my hand and walk with me just for a while. We will dream of new places to go and faces to smile at. If you wish we can walk for a bit or even a lifetime, you will never have to go without me; I am here. The days will be longer, some warm and some cold, but we will have each other. My letter is to you, who holds me in the night—the one who hears my every thought. You are here with me, and I am here with you. We will see the world as one. We will speak to each other with kindness and destroy the dark voices we hear together. This day forward, you will not be strangers. The faces we pass will seem lighter; the voices we hear will be softer, and the places we go will be full of wonder. The life we wish to have will be ours, and we will build together.

You are not my stranger; you are me—the one who speaks to me when I am lost, who lifts me to start again. I wish to know you better. I want to understand your guidance. I want to hold your hand and be one.

When I was a child, I could hear you but didn't understand. Today I am here, raw and open, waiting to share all that you have to teach me. I will share all that I have with you. I choose you to be with me, calm me when I am afraid, push me when I am arrogant, and settle my soul just enough to hear the world.

I was walking through the woods one day and saw a bear. It had been sitting and eating berries from a bush. His teeth were pink, and his lips bright red. At first glimpse, I did not see the berries and had a terrible fright. As I crept past, he acknowledged I existed. Yet, he paid no attention. The giant bear could have made a move, but he sat peacefully eating his berries. I thought to myself, how could this giant beast be so peaceful in the woods enough to allow a human to pass by. He was still pure without fear. He was still free of the idea of being hunted. He was peaceful, alone with himself. I often think of that beer. I dream of being that bear. I want to live in this world just eating my berries and simply smiling as what I currently perceive as dangers pass me. Yet, I am afraid of people. I fear their judgement, acceptance and wish to be accepted and liked. I wonder why I allow myself to feel such uncomfortable pain. The kind of hurt that stops me in my tracks. I want to be that bear and live a simple life.

Today, I will take your hand. I will walk with you. I will become my own best friend. I will no longer fight to listen to you, I will lean into your words, and I will accept your guidance. I will silence the negative stories we share, and together have the strength to turn them around. We will walk hand in hand; our life will be simple. The world will be light, and the words will be ours—without fear. We will grow in a world without judgement, and the world we create will be ours. We will invite those who wish to share with us. We will find joy in this simple world together.
Screenshot 2020-11-27 at 9.37.08 AM.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30