New User Warning and Information: be careful with Bandwidth, Keys, & Apps

in #newuser7 years ago (edited)

OK Been here almost a day and found out that I already need to change my interactions on the platform.

You need bandwidth in order post, comment, power up, power down, or anything on steemit.

Do not resteam until you have been on platform awhile no matter if the content is good it will kill your bandwidth.

Limit your comments and who you follow as these apparently also reduce your bandwidth.

However do post high quality posts regularly 1 to 5 a day is a great goal.

Finally watch out for apps or services that want your private posting key. Unless you know and trust them to be reputable

do not provide them your key.

However, if you do give out your private posting key and you find out later they are not working in your best interest as the claimed you can change your keys. While you can not just change your posting keys you can change all of your keys.

To change your keys simple go to your wallet and select the password tab.

Enter in your current password and then select generate new password.
Save / write down your new password.
Then reenter the new password and select update password.

All your keys are now changed.

Next go to your wallet permissions tab and then select show posting private key
make note of this key and use this key to log into steemit.

Also, if you run out of bandwidth as I did you can use blocktrades.us to transfer steem and or steam power to your account which will eventually gain you back some bandwidth. I transferred a little bit over 6 steem at after an hour I went from negative bandwidth to roughly 13% and then I was able to convert the steem to steam power. This bumped up my bandwidth to over 35%.

If i did not do this it was stating it would take roughly 97 hours to restore my bandwidth.

To view my bandwidth I went to
http:www.steemd.com/@jeffspicer
you can look up your stats by replacing my username with yours.

I hope this helps other new users.

Sort:  

If you want to use third party applications, I recommend steemconnect. It works with the OAuth Protocoll. https://github.com/steemit/steemconnect/wiki/OAuth-2
This looks like a safe option.

Good one. I didn't know about these.

What do you mean by bandwidth?

Also, how did you come to these conclusions?

I ran out of bandwidth and could no longer post, comment, power up, etc... you have no access to the blockchain and can do nothing. I had to transfer some of my ether to steem in order to gain enough bandwidth to post this reply.

Thank you for the reply. Now, I get it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59559.24
ETH 2523.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42