Hello fellow Steemians, I'm Avarice

in #newtosteam8 years ago

Picture of Avarice

Hey there fellow Steemians, I'm Steve (a.k.a Avarice).

Why Avarice?

I originally gave myself the moniker Avarice back when I was much younger, had more free time and spent a lot of time playing computer games - interestingly one of the first times that I used it would have been on Valve's Steam. I used to play a lot of RPGs (one of my favorite being Diablo 2) and I found that my desire for bigger and better items would dwarf that of the main quest; and continue on well past all of my foes had being vanquished. So avarice (the extreme greed for wealth or material gain) became a commentary, or a reflection of what I saw in myself.

How did I find out about Steemit?

Fast forward a few years and I'm still someone looking for material gain, but now in the real world. I'm a software developer by trade, working in FinTech.

In a very round about way, it is through this that I found out about Steemit: as many of you are probably aware the finance sector is starting to take Bitcoin/the Blockchain/Distributed Ledger technology (whatever it is being referred to this week) seriously as more and more startups threaten to take a large slice of the cake that they have so happily been eating for many years. I first took an interest in Bitcoin around the time that most people stopped looking at it as a silly fad and realised that some people were really willing to take it seriously as a store of value - around the end of 2013 when the price of Bitcoin hit $1000. Since then I have been reading up on Bitcoin and looking to learn more about the technology. I became interesting in Ethereum and have been going along to their Meetup events. I got chatting to a group of people there and they suggested that I checked out the Let's Talk Bitcoin network/podcasts. It was from one of those podcasts that I found out about, and became interesting in Steemit.

Why post on Steemit?

I have been a part of many communities and tried my hand at blogging before - I think that there is really a lot of value in creating (and sharing) content on the Internet (take Wikipedia, Facebook, Reddit, Stackexchange etc. for example) - to me Steemit seems to be the next step in the evolution of content curation applications; all of the content is made available to any one or any competing application via a Blockchain, the community / the wisdom of the crowd determines what is valuable and instead of insubstantial reputation - content creators can be rewarded with real money.

Sort:  

Welcome, the tag has a small typo in it though. :)

Steemit is based on Graphene technology. You should check out other projects based on the same technology.

Hi twiceuponatime, do you have any links? I could only find details of physical projects based on graphene - unless I'm missing a joke (and you mean that it's based on the original idea of pencil and paper?!)

Welcome Avarice! Nice to meet you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58085.08
ETH 2337.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37