Flowing in the darkness - Steem Tales That Tells A Lot

in #newsteemtales5 years ago

Looking back now on my begining days on Steem, I find many months of being lost in the wilderness in the vast Steem pond. After almost 2 years of patience and preservence, I see my growth curve as pretty funny and how certain things helped me to improve and in keeping my foot strong among the big whales.

images (2).jpeg

Image Credit - wordseye.com

No doubt like many others , I joined Steem for rewards. I was introduced on the platform with only understanding that posting anything gives you reward. This was my only official & formal mentoring.

With this basic knowledge, I started to flow. And keep posting anything but try to add some meaning to it. Sooner I realised, it was not the case as told. Hardly, I was getting upvote. I went back to my mentor, looking to find a way out. Till my first week, I was totally in darkness. I saw my mentor getting few rewards and making me feel like being left in the crowd.

Remarkable-green-fish-goldfish-450x300.jpg

Image Credit

My second mentoring comes from the same guy, it was about to reach out to possible big whales on #steemit.chat and ask for vote. Till that time I was not aware about #discord or #telegram neither I knew about #minnow #dolphin or #whales. Already on my third week of Steem, I kept flowing as directed with no own thought to apply.

I made a list of few online name on #steemit.chat and checked their profile @ haejin being the first, I followed him and asked for upvote.....to my surprise "no reply". My first attempt failed. I reach to other big name with higher reputation & wallet.
I don't remember her name , but am sure it was a female account. As practiced, I left a message for upvote / follow , she was online, but didn't replied.
I thought, big players do not entertain, small users. As I was about to close the window, I saw the pop-up, it was her and had replied. "DO NOT BEG". and I was stunned, it was most embrassing reply I ever had in my life and not only in Steem only. For a min I was like, I am begging just for rewards.🥺
Well, I didn't gave up, I quickly put forward my situation and asked her to fish me out. I won't say, she upvoted me later, but I would say, she was the first who guided me and mentored me about the importance of community on Steem.

Since then, it was me all alone, looking way out by my own. I didn't asked anything and started my journey all alone which get well support later from @utopian.io #thealliance , #thesteemengine, and other community.

Quite an interesting journey so far.

Thanks to Steem, we now have many onboarding tutorial that are helping many new user to adapt quickly and learning the growth curve.

Stay Calm....Do Not Panic.


Namaste from @steemflow


Keep Steeming...Steem On !!!

STEEMFLOW.gif

image

PHC-Footer-05.gif

image

image

Sort:  

I think we all learn that lesson at one point. It is one of the things I tell people who come visit @steemterminal. I am sure they all think i am full of myself, but they will eventually learn.

So pleased you stayed.
Ren

Nice to see you still swimming in the steem pond, and swimming a little easier. :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

I already quit as well...😉

Hi @steemflow!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.210 which ranks you at #3137 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 17 places in the last three days (old rank 3154).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 109 contributions, your post is ranked at #31.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65395.33
ETH 2611.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67