I Hear Steemit is Going to Change Again

in #newsteem5 years ago

My Steem habits have changed so much over the years how about yours?


Commercial Photography
(images are all mine and unrelated to the post)

I support the upcoming HF21 simply for the reason we need to keep trying different methods until we stumble upon one that works the best for the most of us. I joined Steemit in the first few months of its existence and I fell in love with it quickly and easily. I didn’t even know what BTC or cryptocurrency was back then. Just liked writing my life online to share with my family and friends. I was paying to host a blog before and Steemit was free to use.


(quick look, it's a kitten)
I didn’t care about payouts in the beginning. I had no intention of making money, I didn’t know how to turn my Steem rewards in to cash, it wasn’t a priority for me. My early posts didn’t make much anyways but I was making friends here and learning about different things going on in the world. Over the first few months I got to understand what it was like to be part of a like minded community and most importantly I learned about Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency.


(Yes, this is in China)

Suddenly a new source of income was at my finger tips, literally. I figured out about upvotes, curration and networking. By the end of the first year I was making good money on my posts. I was happy to average 5 SBD per post. Then it went up in to the double digits. Life was good. I was addicted to Steemit. I even peaked with a post that made more than 500SBD once, and the only time I made for than 100. I call those the good old days.


(wish it was mine haha)

Eventually, I fell out of the graces of the whales. I kept posting even though my rewards were not even making 1SBD. I just liked the community. I was commenting and getting comments, conversations were being had. What a great place even if I wasn’t making money. By the end of the third year I was losing interest. Steemit had clearly become more competitive for rewards and the conversations were dwindling. I went from a post or 2 per day to… well now every couple months. I would log in and upvote some of my favourite people here but checking steemit had become work, not a hobby anymore.


(life is meant to be fun)

As steemit pushes forward and tons of new people get onboard I hope to come back and continue writing and sharing my moments more often. We’ll see what the new hardfork brings to the community. More functions and easier usability might be nice. Would be nice if it was easier to reward people using less Steem power. Let’s give it a shot and see what happens.


(Canada Day beach party in Dalian China)

It would also be nice if Steemit was available in China , I’m not sure why it’s been blocked recently

Sort:  

The new changes look good for curators

Cool, I don't realy know what all the changes are but I should dig deeper.

They removed the beta sign, but this is still all in alpha phase :)

Nice steem full on.

It's good to see you pop up in the feeds, even if it is only every few months lol

Thanks Tamara. Hope pop up more often soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13