Anonymity

in #newsteem5 years ago

noir copy.jpg

We have a lot of anonymous people in the internet, especially in Steemit and in the crypto world in general. For some it’s a safety measure to protect their assets from crooks, or to safeguard their own criminal behavior, some hide from their government, some want to be able to speak their mind without having those statements be linked to their offline persona, and some just don’t want the attention. I’m sure there are many more reasons I’m not aware of.

What I find interesting is that these anonymous people in the blockchain are not anonymous to all of us, somebody always knows someone who knows someone. How fascinating! There will always be people trying their hardest to dox the anonymous big fishes. The longer you have been on the platform and the more active and involved you are in the projects and gatherings, the more you’ll probably know about the real people behind their usernames.

You can dig out actions on the blockchain, but what happens between people outside of that, is even more interesting. We have had three Steemfests, a lot of little gatherings all over the world happen all the time, some bring on their friends and relatives to the platform, others have been here from the start and build this whole thing, some people know each other from other social platforms or crypto projects from way back. Who knows who, who is friends with who, who hooked up with who.

People gossip, okay!?

Steemit is such an interesting little microcosm with secret society characteristics, that one can not not be curious. I think if we could have all the information about the connections between all steemians, a crime novel worthy map with peoples faces and red strings between them, it would be quite interesting to see. I wouldn’t actually be surprised if some creep was building such Steemit map on their mamas basement as we speak.

It’s kind of funny when meeting Steemians in real life and you start to talk about the big players or the more polarising characters and how everyone is connected in Steemit. A few meaningful glances go through the group when a name comes up and you know those people know more than they give out. Loyalties are for sure tested at times, and it tells a lot about a person if they are ready to give out any information about a steemian who clearly likes to keep to themselves. I for sure have come across many instances where someone asks me about a person they think I might know off chain, and I need to do a quick calculation on what is public knowledge and what not, before I answer.

Steemians in general, at least most of those I have met, respect others privacy very well. I’ve noticed people tiptoe around the subject when someone brings up a person and you can see they know more than they are saying. It’s quite heartwarming actually to see how well secrets are kept and even during Steemfest where a lot of pictures are taken all the time, most everyone makes sure they are not posting a picture of anyone that doesn’t want their face on the blockchain. Those who want to remain anonymous, should be able to do so.

I’ve got the receipts, but Your secrets are safe with me ;)

Ps. If you waterboard me, I’ll spill all the beans.

Sort:  

Its pretty easy to pickup where people want to be anonymous - I agree best to be respectful and let them have their space. I've been to many local meet ups in Adelaide and everyone is friendly and respectful. I think Steem attracts some really interesting and open minded people from all walks of life, all with interesting stories to tell, its just not all can post about it openly or as eloquently as yourself...Conversely it also attracts entrepreneurs and opportunists like any other crypto or social media, so I understand people would be guarded revealing too much until a bit of trust is built. Thanks for another thought provoking post :)

If you motorboat me, i'll spill the beans too...

Umm, yeah I guess I have met a few people who don't have their face on chain - probably good to keep private if you got a big stash.

I don't have such powers of persuasion sadly :(

Aww, Over-rated anyway imo. Means you will have other strengths :P

good point... it's not my case as I'm an artist but I can imagine so. are you going to steemfest this year? I can't afford it but sounds exotic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85