You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Newsteem Economic Philosophy Freewrite

in #newsteem5 years ago (edited)

This is my first time commenting on your posts. Actually first time visiting your post. I am not much of a writer, but hopefully that's alright, we all have our roles to play.

When I discovered steem nearly 2 years back, my first impression was; well not everyone is a content creator! So how does this thing will work? After nearly 2 years I can't really call myself a noob anymore can I? However, my first observation remains valid.

In a social network that is build on a blockchain, which actually pays the users, the most important thing is governance. Yes, we all love our freedom, we all have our freedom but not at the expense of others. Just like in real life you can't shoot someone because you are free, you go to jail if you do that (hopefully!)

So, NO, you circle-voters, you know who you are. NO you do not have freedom to do CRIME. We will come after you and we will hunt you down. So, who gave us this job? Well we took it upon ourselves. You say you don't like it? Fine, go where ever you like to go, or feel free to stay. But there WILL BE GOVERNANCE.

I don't like to comment much, but often silence is taken as weakness. Also the stage never remains empty, so if I don't speak, someone else will, and that someone else can be a criminal, a manipulator, a person who doesn't think anything else other than personal gain.

I am fortunate that I do not need income from Steem. But my privilege is not my fault and not my weakness either. Let us focus on content, social interaction, innovation on this blockchain. Price will follow. If you are a spammer, deep down you know that you produce spam, and we don't want you here. Who decides what is spam you ask? Crowd decides, collective up-vote and down-vote decides what is spam. It least it should. That is the intent.

Thank you @joshman for this thought provoking article. Got me to write this long! :)

Sort:  

You're welcome, and thanks for the comments! For the record, your writing seems fine to me! You're right about governance. I think one of the fundamental issues is that people are not used to decentralized governance, which is messy. That's why we see so many appeals to Steemit Inc. for guidance regarding 'official STEEM rules'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94