Are delegations to bid-bots falling since the recent hard fork?

in #newsteem5 years ago

At the weekend I presented some data that included the amount of STEEM being sent to a selection of some of the most popular Bid-bots. In the comments it was suggested that delegations to the bots should be assessed to see if this was shrinking or not.....


After a couple of hours of fiddling around with TxDelegateVestingShares of SteemSQL fame by @arcange, I have finally gotten my head around ROW_NUMBER() and OVER(PARTITION BY ... ) and have the following to present.

I used today's delegation totals to 11 Bid-bots and worked backwards a week at a time, covering 7 weeks in total which places the latest hard fork(s) nicely in the middle of the dataset.

The 11 Bid-bots used: 'appreciator', 'booster', 'buildawhale', 'minnowvotes', 'ocdb', 'postpromoter', 'rocky1', 'smartsteem', 'therising', 'tipu', and 'upmewhale'.

I opted for Steem Power over MVESTS as the figure to present. Due to the number of STEEM per VESTS growing slightly all the time, the further back in time the data goes, the slightly more inaccurate the total is. Today, the number of STEEM per VESTS is 505.098, 7 weeks ago this number was probably closer to 505.000. I don't think it makes a noticeable difference to the numbers but I thought I'd best mention it.

Why didn't you use VESTS then?

The numbers are crazy big and most people think in SP.

Anyway, enough chat, time for the image.



Whilst looking quite colourful it's not that easy to see what's been happening, although 'ocdb', 'smartsteem', and 'booster' show up quite well and show a dip in the week following the recent hard fork(s). It's also not that easy to see in the table below, but it's here for completeness.



Almost 23.6 million Steem Power was delegated out to the 11 bots above on the 6th August, that total is around 19.8 million today - 19% less. And to visualize this:




A couple of points:

Hopefully, this 19% is going out to content creators producing content that the stakeholder deems worthy, instead of them being paid to look away - 3.7 million Steem Power is a reasonable addition to the 'organic' voting stake.

The other point I want to mention is that I'm not overly disappointed it's not more - especially in the case of @ocdb and @buildawhale. Since the beginning of the month, these Bid-bots (with a current combined stake of almost 4.8 million SP) are actively using their 'free' downvote mana each day to combat some of the blockchains most stubborn accounts, and I see this as a good thing.

What say you?

Cheers

Asher

Sort:  

Hi @abh12345!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.458 which ranks you at #181 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 126 contributions, your post is ranked at #2. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@abh12345,
Yeah it's a positive thing if Bid bots wish to fight against Abusers of the STEEM. I think it might be the best thing that HF21-22 did for us!
!trdovoter 75

Cheers~

Congratulations @theguruasia, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @abh12345!
@abh12345 got 6 TRDO & @theguruasia got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I think you could well be right there, cheers! :D

Interesting ...I don't really have a pertinent comment, but it was cool to look at and I appreciate your data crunching, so have a !BEER

That's no problem :) There was some crunching in my head as the SQL gears are a bit (always) rusty but I think the end result shows some positive signs.

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @abh12345, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Well well we’ll, that’s interesting looks like our abuse of big bot abuse is starting to take its toll! It really is all about who has the bigger stick to hit one another with in the direction we want

I’ve never delegated to a bid bot but then again I did t have much stake! I recently started filling delegations in dlesase though giving that a go!

I think passive investors should look to something like that if they’re keen on earning without effort

Apparently :)

Bang on @chekohler I think that the lease market will be looking more attractive for investors and we should start to see a bit of a shift.

I never really got my head around the leasing market. More SP sounds nice but calculating potential earnings v's the cost seemed to show it wasn't worth it?

People want to lease SP for all sorts of reasons. I know one community that leases SP to upvote contributing members and it's hard to put a price on that ;)

Definitely more manual curation is being seen amongst the #newsteem wave as a direct result of this. We’re also seeing less and less junky, promoted content crowding the trending page. All is good for steem, as new steem continues its wave and hopefully no longer is sought as ~ new ~

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes I think this is quite positive and leaning in the #newsteem direction. Thanks for stopping by :)

For sure. Thanks for adding value with high quality content, mate

Respect

Posted using Partiko iOS

Buildawhale has an auto flag on it... I got hit with it as well. And I'm seeing flag abuse as being a major issue.

Auto-flagging you?

Auto flagging the clients. I wasn't the only person hit.

I think it's awesome! Bots with huge delegation flagging is double win, as there's less shit being upvoted while other shit is downvoted, all the while the reward pool is being distributed to all the 'good peepz' creating 'good' or 'non-spammy' content.

Can't wait to see how this further develops in the coming weeks and months. So far I like NewSteem :D

A #newsteem fan, there seems to be a fair amount of those, good! :D

I breathe NewSteem! I am NewSteem! I live and dream and die for NewSteem!

#nodrama

@abh12345, In my opinion Delegations are turning towards the Tribes and i think that it will going to bring beautiful diversification and empowerment.

Posted using Partiko Android

They could be doing this, I hope the tribes go well. Thanks for the comment @chireerocks :)

Welcome brother. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

1 !BEER Token for you

1 is nice, 2 is better :D Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95