South Africa - Fire & Flood!

in #newslink7 years ago

The aptly named Cape of Storms experienced a storm to remember yesterday, with gale force winds, flooding and general devastation. The same gale force winds caused havoc in the town of Knysna, where a high school friend of mine lives. Almost the entire town had to be evacuated in the face of a monstrous firestorm fueled by the unbelievable wind. Unfortunately both the storm, and the out of control fire did cause loss of life, and very extensive damage to property, in the wake of the fire many homes were razed to the ground. Fortunately my friend's home was spared. 

A few photo's I have sourced from social media

Credit: CRC Main (facebook)

Credit: LEP (facebook)

Credit: @Mel_delaCroix (twitter)

Credit: Benita van As (facebook)

Credit: Knysna Municipality (facebook)

Credit: Benita van As (facebook)

Credit: Jacaranda Radio (facebook)

Credit: VOC Radio (facebook)

Credit: Jacque Weber (facebook)

Gale force winds!!! Credit: yoMzansi (facebook)

I live over 1000km away from these areas so we are completely unaffected by this apocalyptic weather. It also does not seem to be moving up country towards us. The weather prediction for tomorrow is a little chillier than usual for us, but that is all.

Thank you for reading! Please follow me @onetree

Sort:  

Hi @onetree, I pray that no one got injured. Climate change is unfortunately causing weather that we normally never experienced in South Africa.

I heard a few people lost their lives. :(

@onetree, oh no! I haven't been paying attention to the news. It's really sad.

Yes, has been a few turbulent days, but here in Cape Town we will gladly put up with the mess the storm made for the water that was delivered. As regards Knysna I really hope that front has now landed there and is helping to douse those fires

I am holding thumbs for all of you!

Wow that 2nd and 3rd picture look intense.

Definitely intense weather!

yes, I agree! It is so very unfortunate what took place there!

Oh my! My thoughts and prayers are with all those affected by this disaster, @onetree

Thank you @breakingtonight

You are very welcome, @onetree

It's been hectic listening the the disaster that is taking place in Knysna at the moment! :( So many people have lost everything. Resteemed.

It is truly horrendous.

Camps Bay in die kaap was flooded yesterday. cars underwater.

Crazy times.

Yes, absolutely!!!

Are you planning to donate the money gathered by this post to those affected? On twitter I saw requests from the Municipalities for any help.

Hi @kinbit,
My friend @kingbit mistakenly sent STEEM to your account. You can see that he is the owner of these funds.

Would you kindly return the STEEM back to @kingbit?

Thanks in advance for being so honorable!

Kind Regards,
@haejin

Natural disasters are always devastating. I hope people are safe there.

Yes they are, I hope so too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68140.53
ETH 3250.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65