Cairn for Kids--Hiking Mt. Everest Base Camp for Foster Kids

in #news7 years ago

Cairn for Kids

https://www.cairnforkids.com/

12011283_10206055850049749_7729853045757488334_n.jpg

My Uncle Terry, a dedicated traveler, is always on to the next adventure. And this next adventure is his biggest one yet. He is planning to hike Mt. Everest Base Camp in the Spring of 2018 to raise money for Children's Home and Aid (a family agency service in Illinois). With Illinois' budget crisis and rated the top state most people are leaving, this is an organization that could use some support!

CHA_logo_blue.gif

https://www.childrenshomeandaid.org/

"Mount Everest has an altitude of 29,029 ft. and his goal is to financially match that height with $29,029 in raised funds with 100% going directly to the charity of CHA."

He and my aunt only have one child, but they are extremely dedicated to CHA and foster children. A Cairn is a pile of stones that hikers use to mark their trail. Just like hikers, my uncle says that foster children need markers to guide them along. He is hoping to raise funds to provide such an opportunity for these children.

"I may or may not reach the summit. I may or may not reach my fundraising goal. But I am certain I will help change the life of at least one person for the better. It may inspire you to adopt or become a foster parent. It may be that I'll raise enough to pay for something just one child needs. Perhaps a child will accept the challenge to tackle their own mountain and press-on to climb for a higher tomorrow. Support Cairn for Kids and you'll be making a big difference in a child's life and help to make our community better."

https://www.cairnforkids.com/

19420458_10211107151329124_4173023805263290173_n.jpg

I will hopefully be posting a bit more about his journey, but please give his website a look through. And maybe even donate if possible! I'm going to try and make my donation to him in steem. If you do donate, please comment below and I will follow you :) Click the website below to donate in USD or send some steem to my account with the memo "Cairn for Kids Donation".

https://www.cairnforkids.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62852.17
ETH 2463.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64