who women news

in #news6 years ago

The woman at the center of the now-viral clip of Tony Robbins, in which he seemed to dismiss the goals of the #MeToo movement, told ABC News' "Nightline" today that she felt "pushed" to stand and confront Robbins for his rhetoric.

"I was really uncomfortable with what he was saying about #MeToo," Nanine McCool said. "The part that sort of pushed me out of my chair was the constant shaming of victims. ... I’m really tired of being shamed for having been a victim."

McCool, a resident of Louisiana and former lawyer, said that she "was cringing" while listening to Robbins talk about the movement during a self-help seminar March 15 in San Jose, California. McCool said that she was attending the seminar hoping for inspiration.

"I thought, 'Oh gosh, Tony Robbins, you’ve got this all wrong. You don’t understand,'" she said, "and then the next thing I knew I was on my feet and I was yelling at him."

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by yuppocrypto from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65898.24
ETH 3442.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62