Part One: Anti-Sharia Law March NYC, 6-10-2017. Interviews and Observations.

in #news7 years ago

Ok folks so I was on the ground for the NYC "Anti-Sharia March" and boy was it exciting to be in person and on the ground as a citizen in the greatest city on Earth during a protest. I have to say this is my first official protest that I took part in and as such I did not want to water down the experience by limiting myself to the sideline as a member of the PRESS so instead I decided to just join the group and weave myself into and out of crowds to see what some of the voices were on the ground.

In the name of respect and safety I will not be posting anyones pictures, including my own, as I do not want to be responsible for anyone being doxxed or worse, hurt, because of their opinions. Whether we agree with one another is not important, it is the freedom to exchange ideas peacefully that I think is the greatest right we have and the biggest threat to our society, in losing that right.

So after paying my train ticket into the city and then walking to the destination that was online I found that the "march" ended up being a lot larger in size than I had thought it would be. I suppose there were a lot of people who simply wanted to see what was going to happen and showed up. In fact many of the people I spoke to were there not because they were Muslim or because they were Anti-Sharia but because they wanted to simply watch a traincrash and see what was going to conspire.

First I took my place on the side of the MAGA-wearing Anti-Sharia Protesters who were very patriotic and in my experience, genuinely feel it was dangerous to accept Sharia into our country and furthermore, to import people whose wishes are to implement this law within our borders. Ideologically this is where I also stand. I have no hate towards Muslims whatsoever but I do think there is a very big danger in letting a lot of unvetted refugees into our country with the current state of things. To me it would be better to limit the 'refugees' coming in than to have coordinated terrorist attacks and have Muslims blanket blamed for them and worse, to be treated as second class citizens, possibly rounded up into camps, a la WWII Japanese Camps, when they are genuinely peaceful people. Speaking to the crowd and seeing the signs held up mainly focused on this, as well as other points specific to Sharia Law itself, like how it denies women's rights and the rights of the 🏳️‍🌈 community.

The location lends itself very easily to the type of Leftist ideology that is inherently anti-Trump and anti-Republican but in this instance I saw a sort of amalgamation of "Far-Right/Alt-Right" and "Leftist" groups joining together against this set of values coming into the United States of America 🇺🇸. It seems as though Sharia Law is one thing the left and right can agree on and I think there were many people who came out of the day respecting the other side a lot more. Despite counter protests I think this event was mostly positive and a good thing for America.

So I will just go down a list of some interactions I had with some people and, trying to transcribe from my phones voice recorder, will try to quote them as accurately as possible. I will go in chronological order as that is the order of my appearance there and also the order at which I moved from one group to the next.

Firstly I landed myself in Patriotland. This is not Boston so no Red Socks or Tom Brady, but Red, White and Blue was very prevalent. People wore the typical "Red, Trump, MAGA" hats and "Trump-Pence 2016" T-Shirts as well as holding signs saying things like "No Sharia Law Today or Any Day, Here or Anywhere", "Sharia Law Hurts Women", "Sharia Law Kills Gays", "Sharia is Evil", to more I would say inflammatory signs such as "Mohammed Married a 6-Year Old Girl, The Koran preaches Death to ALL Infidels #NOTMYPROPHET!" (Which I thought was typical of other signs in the area. These signs seemed to not be anti-Sharia Law so much as anti-Islam in the USA and so I asked the man with the sign what he thought about the protest and what his sign meant. Here is some of that conversation, again, transcribing from iPhone voice recorder, as I did not clear out space for video (I am stupid and could have got 4K video and didn't);

"So I see your sign here is there anything that you would like to say to people in addition to this ?"
" Sharia law is not compatible with the West, it's believers should never come to America, he (Mohammed/The Koran, presumably) preaches death to all non-Muslims, it encourages the complete destruction of our bill of rights, which is already under attack, these are just people that do not have the same values, do not share the same values, as the rest of us here."
"You say people, do you see Muslims as a group being for, or Pro, Sharia Law?"
"Absolutely I do, absolutely. I think you have a lot of people that are Muslims and a lot of people that are not Muslims, but want to stick up for Muslims and they say that, "oh not all Muslims are terrorists, not all Muslims are violent, not all Muslims follow Sharia Law", even though Islam is Sharia, Sharia is Islam, and then you have other Muslims that refuse to denounce, refuse to denounce any terrorist group or terrorist attacks in the name of Islam and speak out of both sides of their mouth and, in fact, Sharia Law sees it as not a sin to lie so long as you are doing so to promote Sharia Law and to promote Islam in the pursuit of killing infidels and that is anyone that is not a Muslim and does not follow Sharia and that is where you see Muslims themselves being blown up, having acid thrown in their face, being raped, all of these things that we see not only in the Muslim world, but also coming to Europe and I, for one, do not want to see it come to America. If it comes to America it will be the start of a Civil War and I don't want to see that, as a Veteran".
"I am also a Veteran and understand and can see your points. I also don't want to see a Civil War or more terrorist attacks in America. Do you think Islam is inherently violent?"
"(laughter) I don't think, I don't think I have to think, I think the proof is in the pudding. There's no other religion going around preaching to kill people that do not believe what they believe and teach their children that it is OK to murder other people simply because they are not like you. I think that in American history we have fought against those types of beliefs and for those people on the other side that would call me a racist or Islamophobic I would say 'is being Islamophobic not being pro gay rights? Brcause they want to stone you to death. Is it not being pro free speech, is it not being basically American? I mean come on!"
" OK I definitely see what you're saying and I actually do agree that Sharia Law and the Constitution of the United States do not jive, they don't mix well, and I do think that you cannot have two competing legal systems in one country and expect that the citizens will not fight each other about who is right and what is moral or acceptable in the US".
" exactly, exactly. This is an about Muslims being bad people, it really isn't, it is just simply we are not the same in terms of what we believe to be morally just and I think it will lead to more violence, more terror, more hate and more protests."
" OK well said, well thank you for your time, I really appreciate you taking a few minutes to give me your opinion and of course from a Veteran to a Veteran I don't need to say thank you for your service, it's implied, but thank you for standing up for the Constitution of the United States, I do appreciate that a lot and of course Free-Speech and your right to assemble peacefully, thank you."

So that was my first big "interview" of the day and I feel like I really hit a homerun with this man. He was about 6'2", probably late 40's, early 50's, I would say the typical Trump voter in 2016. This I thought was a really good example of the overall rhetoric I had been hearing at the rally/march. I continued on and spoke to a woman next, again late 40's-ish, white Trump T-Shirt, Make America Great Again hat, sunglasses, caucasian (presumably from her blonde hair). This is the transcription of that conversation;

"Hi how are you doing today,..."
"Hey, sho are you with, are you a writer for the NY Times or something?"
"(laughing) No definitely not. I am just an independent journalist covering this event and seeing if I could speak to some people here on this beautiful day exercising their Right to Free Speech"
" OK I had to make sure that you were all of those George Soros guys or something (laughter, looks at people around her)."
"No, no, I'm not a George Soros guy or part of any mainstream media network, I'm just here to see what people are saying and, really just want to know what people think...about Sharia law and why are you here today".
"OK well you know I think that for the most part Sharia Law is trying to kill us in the West. It's literally trying to kill us and take over. I mean you look at the way that they treat women, look at the way that they treat gay people, I mean they don't let women drive? You can't leave the religion without being murdered? That just isn't American."
" OK so you think that Sharia Law is a direct threat to the United States?"
"Of course it is! Of course it is. Look at all the people on TV that says, that say Sharia Law is coming to United States (air quotes). It will take over the world, we will all be under Sharia Law (all air quotes), do you want that?"
"I think what you have to say is fair, I definitely see many, I guess you would call them "Radical Islamists" (air quotes) on TV, YouTube and other outlets that do say that Sharia Law will come to America and basically I think these are the the Radical Muslims the people fear".
"Yeah the only problem is there's more of them than you think."
"Do you think the majority of Muslims believe in violence against non-believers?"
" I don't think they do it in public but I think that Islam and what they teach in mosques is a set of beliefs that is not according to the values of Americans. I think they don't want to be seen as a threat so they use more benign Muslims and now these "Social Justice Warriors" (air quotes) to call us all racists or xenophobes, whatever that means, I work on Wall Street I didn't study Communism at Columbia, sorry, to shame us into not speaking uo about the values we have in America, the values and the Rights that Americans have died to defend, you know? And I don't know I just think its a sort of smokescreen to get refugees in so they can create terror here and we will have a government that is weakened and a people that are really afraid, more so than right now, about terrorism, and then the Government will inevitably restrict our rights in the name of security."
"Wow that is actually very close to what I believe as far as the last part. I think more terrorist attacks in the US would definitely lead to the destruction of the Bill of Rights".
"yeah you know and that's not right, that's not something that we should allow to happen just because they claim that there are babies dying in the Middle East. There have been babies being killed in the Middle East for at least my entire generation if not earlier in the name of all sorts of things so I do not think that we should be following this line of propaganda that says we should except every refugee because they're all women and children, harmless, because I've seen a lot of refugees that said they were children and they were full grown men and just statistically I have seen figures that say 75% of all refugee children are actually adults".
"that is scary to think about terrorists coming in under the guise of refugees, especially as helpless children, and a government that would be OK with that".
"yeah and you know the thing is is our representatives and our politicians are just out for themselves, they don't really care, they live in a bubble, they don't really care what the people think and they don't have to live with the effects of terrorism, should it happen".
" I definitely agree with that, I think politicians are way too isolated from the lives of the average American. Well thank you for your time I definitely appreciate all the comments you made and I think that you have a lot of really good points and thank you for coming out today and exercising your First Amendment".
"Of course, if I don't do it now we might not be able to, especially as a woman, if we have Sharia Law in New York City, thank you good luck with your interviewing (laughs)."

So after that lady I feel like I got the "baby-boomer" perspective and decided to target someone who appeared to be my age or younger, possibly a Generation X'er or...a damn Millennial (what happened to Generation Y btw?). Here is a conversation I had with a young lady, probably early 20's, which is about ten years younger than me";

"hi how are you doing today?"
"hello am I on camera, wait, I gotta make sure my hair looks good (laughing)"
"No your hair looks fine and no I'm not videotaping I'm just using my phone to record conversations so I can write them for an article later on"
"OK who are you with?"
"more or less an independent journalist but have you ever heard of STEEMIT.com?"
"no I haven't what is that?"
"It's basically a website where anybody and everybody can write articles and blogs and post content and also make an income doing so. I definitely suggest you check it out, especially since you might be on there (laugh)."
"OK definitely, let me write that down, or type that in rather, so I can check it out later" (BONUS)
"so what brings you down here today?"
"well basically I am a feminist, or at least I consider myself a feminist somewhat, and I think that Sharia Law is terrible for women and I definitely don't want to see Sharia Law or any part of it coming to America anytime soon. Otherwise I would be raped or killed for simply wearing this tank top or wearing these shorts. It's ridiculous"
"OK so you think that your rights as an American would be infringed, I guess, should Sharia Law come within the borders of the United States?"
"Absolutely. Absolutely. I think Islam in general is not very fair to women or gay people and I don't think that America is the place for it. I think that those who want to follow Sharia Law should live in countries where Sharia Law is recognized"
"do you think Islam is a violent religion?"
"I don't think that all Muslims are terrorists or anything but I do think that those hard-core people who do believe in Sharia Law have already shown the world that they are violent and they are a threat to people that are not Muslim and don't believe what they believe so yeah I think Islam is a religion that promotes violence against non-Muslims and sh*t, even if you are Muslim they will blow you up too. But on the average and especially those who are born and raised in the USA I don't think that they are the types of people carrying out these terrorist attacks. I think it is mostly people from Middle Eastern Countries and I don't want that to be Uptown, Midtown or in Downtown N.Y.C. anytime soon."
" OK thank you for your time and be safe area and see if there's a lot of counter protest going on so I think I'm going to try to see some other sides of this argument and see what their points are because I don't really see other than calling people racist and Islam a phobia is what their reasoning can be to promote sharia law in the United States so once again take me time and check out steamit.com because I am probably going to put this interview up so follow me at (insert self-promotion)."
"OK I definitely will, thank you, be safe over there I don't know what they're going to think of you coming from this side. I think they might attack you or something (laughter) so be careful."
"Don't worry I'm a Marine (insert cocky smurk)."
" OK (laughter) well thank you for your service, I definitely support our Veterans."
"great, thank you, take care".

Ok so this is going to be "Part One" of I think two or three parts. I am going to try to separate this into the beginning and one side, then the other side and a conclusion. So it might be two parts or three depending on how many people I want to put into each side and also I wanted to cover the overall atmosphere and not just conversations because it was interesting to see this event as a whole both from either side and from an outside POV.

So hopefully you liked this article so far and I will be sure to continue writing the second part of the "Anti-Sharia Law March, N.Y.C." series today and hopefully post by this evening. I am going back and forth between the audio from my phone and trying to accurately transcribe verbatim the conversations and gestures from memory so forgive me for the time it is taking to release all this. It was a beautiful day for a protest. I try to remain objective but also do tend to agree with people and alternatively disagree to encourage a further depth of discussion but so far as a journalist I am still amateur hour so don't expect high production from me until I get a healthy amount of experience behind me.

Hopefully being close to New York City will mean I can cover many more events like Protests and rallys and anything else STEEMIT wants me to bring them. I did spend almost the entire day with this so please UPVOTE and REPOST if you liked this article and FOLLOW if you want to see more. I am just getting started here on STEEMIT so look forward to a lot more from me as, although I may not post every day, I am always writing something for future posting. Thanks for reading and check back in for Part 2 and the conclussion of my experience at the event yesterday. @wwamd (What Would A Marine Do?), OUT!

Sort:  

Hey thanks for posting this. Iread through this and wow you have a lot of content here, good job getting to talking with lots of people too!

The scary part of this? The Democrats used to be out with signs saying how Christians are anti gay, anti lgbt, anti freedom, wanted to enslave us with religion, wanted to force their bs "spaghetti monster in the sky"on everyone, blah.

Now?now we have the Right and Republicans out protesting how Muslims are anti gay, anti lgbt, how Muslims want to force things on us. Where is the Left and the Democrats?what it is only cool to protest when it is against christians huh? So it is ok for any Muslim to beat his wife, keep her in a garbage bag she has to wear in public. All the other bad things yada yada. NOwhere to be found are the left protesting these things. It is disgusting.

Appreciate a like and follow, I am trying to help spread the truth around here :) Iupvoted your post :)

FOLLOWED AND UPVOTED BACK! Yeah I think the same thing. Look at Obama and Killary, I mean Clinton. Not very long ago they were anti-Gay Marriage and now they are hailed as pariahs against the evil, "Right Wing"and any Conservative, meanwhile Conservatives love Marriage! We love FREEDOM and Sovereignty! Liberty. Its on all our money! I think Politicians are ruining this Nation and have been for a long time. Trump, although probably not the best equipped for the job is a breath of fresh air simply because he is not a bought Politician who cares only about re-election so they can be in Congress for 20+ years. He already knows power and thats why no one pushes him around (see UN video haha). What he says resonates with people because Killary is just a corrupt person and a liar and has no part of her that isn't pre-scripted and planned out for massive manupulation of the people. Its sad. I wish we could have had a Sanders V Trump General Election because the people would have had such a better choice and truly the debates would have shown what the American people are concerned with, and its jobs! Its the future and security of our families! Of our borders and our safety from Globalist Agendas that harm our Country and Citizens. Of our Republic! If Killary is the voice of the Progressives in this country than I feel really bad for those people who only vote (D). I think Sanders or Trump would have won if they ran as a third party candidate. I see the two party system being challenged in the next 12 years. There are too many Americans with great ideas who have passion that do not come from DC. They need to have their voices heard or else we will end up with more Clintons and God-forbid, more Bush's and Obama's. Corrupt and never will be anything but, and I can say that, he (Bush) used to be my boss 😉. 🦅⚓️🌎

Hey, what games do you play??? I am on xbox one and do Halo 5 a lot (level 145 1.5 K/D).

PC Master Race haha. But mostly FPS of course, just finished my newest build so just got into Battlefield 1 finally and yet to touch games I bought a while ago like XCOM 2, Rise of the Tomb Raider, Watchdogs 2 and Titanfall 2. But I have a huge Steam library and on console all I touch is Nintendo. Most games that drop on XBOX will drop on PC plus its multifunctional. And really fast with 6 overclocked cores and nVME m.2 boot drive and SSD's all around. Gotta love wasting money 🤓

And I suck at Halo. I think my K:D would be 1:10 hahaha

nice report. followed

I was 3rd LAI Bn (88-91). always good to see more jarheads on Steemit

Thanks brother for the follow, followed you right back. I was 2nd Airwing, MWHS-2, "The Deuce", CH53E Crew Chief/Door Gunner. Raining hellfire! Ooh-f*ckin'-Rah teuffelheunden (devil dog). Hope I spelled that right haha. Mad respect to the Grunts. Check out some of my other posts I have a series that I am doing about my career in the USMC and trying to finish up a few good stories from my days in the Corps. I have one about my MCT Instructor and one about after I got my DD-214. Next will be about what else, Boot Camp and the friends, the brothers, that were lost in the recent wars. Thanks again for the follow.

Excellent post, glad we got some actual perspective on whats going on. 100% behind my fellow Americans on this one. Sharia Law is 100% anti american values.

Yeah exactly. I think its important to separate the difference between cultures that don't mix and are dangerous for both if mixed and just outright racism or "islamophobia", whatever that means today. That word pisses me off like homophobia does. There is a huge difference in my opinion between not agreeing with a groups values and practices and/or being afraid of them. People need to get more accurate with their words and expressions or else everyone will just be assumed to be afraid of everything they dont agree with, which is ridiculous.

Wow I can't believe you managed to get down the responses word for word! That shows serious prepping, planning, and recording! :) Appreciate your effort and your post. Keep it up!

Thanks for sharing this! The imminent danger of islamic fascism is here in Europe much closer than in the USA. But people are blind and let the Islam spreading. Europe, wake up before it is too late. Islam is a one way road to slavery.

Nice article, I think your interviews are pretty good and that showing some agree and disagree with people improves it.

I was surprised about 3 of 3 of the people talking about gay rights, I know LGTB tolerance has greatly increased in USA specially in biggest cities but I did not expected that about the first interviewee at all. That makes me happy.

Yeah I think mostly people assume that Patriotic Americans are all very Conservative Republicans that are anti-LGBT and racist and in my experience it is very much not the truth. Especially when it comes to Sharia Law I think there are many Americans that can say, without pause, that those values and laws, whether told it is Islamic Law or not, do not mix with the overall values of the USA which is at its core, Pro-FREEDOM. Freedom to have a Gay Pride Parade without being killed. Freedom to be a Conservative in NYC (bold), Freedom to Assemble peacefully and to Speak without fear of retribution. Pro-Gun Rights people are not just those crazies who go on killing sprees but mostly honest Veterans and regular people (shoot one it isnt that scary). I think honestly that if both sides, if there are only two, were to blindly put their values down onto a piece of paper and place them into a hat and we counted them all up, that both sides would have very, very similar results. Part 2 that I am trying to finish up will show a lot of that and also some just, I think, confusion about the "other side" and what they are standing up for! The narrative is always framed to get people angry and I don't think people would be as opposed to one another if they really knew what was in the other persons heart. The Mainstream Media tells us all that we are so polarized and hopelessly divided, but as Americans, I think we will always be more alike than different. One piece of evidence, Americans Protest with Passion for their beliefs. Under Sharia Law people would be punished severely for going against any imposed policy. Actually they wouldn't, because no one would be protesting, because they dont have a Bill of Rights, Human Rights that are God-given, with the Police, Military and Civilians exercising their 2nd Amendment Right, protecting them like we have here in the United States. God Bless the US!

Yes, in Europe the north-american stereotype is an alt-right, obese, unecological, weapon-obsessed, mormon white man. All stereotypes are unfair. I know that USA is a very diverse country, with a mix of people from all around the world, and there are big differences in laws between states. I also know that majority of civilians does not have weapons, and that mormon religion is minoritarian.

It is good that Americans Protest with passion, here in Spain that does not happen. The biggest protests in the last years here there was the protests against Irak war, the protest against terrorism after 03/11/2004 attack in Madrid and the 15-May movement, which inspired Occupy Wall Street movement.

Here in Spain the mass media is also trying to polarize the people. According to them, you can either vote the traditional right-center country, completely infested by corruption, or let the communist win and create a dictatorship inspired by Iran and Venezuela. This is completely false, the most left party is not that extremist and there are also two center parties that can bring moderation.

God bless US and those who fought in the past against kings and dictators to ensure we can get the human rights we enjoy today. I think we the millenials are not doing enough for defend those rights.

"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." Benjamin Franklin

I only got offended when you said Mormon hahaha. Yeah I always assumed people from Europe always thought we all wore cowboy hats and had accents from NY and Georgia. Definitely obese and pretty white overall but that is changing. I think as a Spaniard you would have a lot to say about the dangers of a radicalized form of militant Islam. But if you haven't shot a AR-15 yet you totally have to, weapons are mans worst enemy and therefore it's your best friend against your enemies. The term Alt-Right is just a term for stuff FoxNews won't put on their network because they are too busy sexually harassing the staff. And I totally hate that we don't use more wind farms. I think that and tidal energy are the biggest wasted natural resources that only need maintenance and even geothermal. Fossil fuels are just old technology and we can definitely do better without them and all the plastic in our bodies.

Hahaha, not my intention at all.

The islamist attacks was a big shock to Spaniard society. This is a quite pacifist country, with a muslim community very well integrated. Our president forced us to get involved in Irak in an effort to lick Bush balls. According to surveys only 10% spaniards supported joining the war. I am not a hippy who thinks that every international conflict can be solved by diplomacy and sending international aid with flowers, but in my opinion this high-scale missions should be approved by country citizens, not only by Congress.

I have heard that some state governors and mayors of big cities declared that they will try to accomplish Paris agreements in spite of federal government abandoning it, and I think this proves that north-americans are getting more involved in protecting the environment.

Yeah well the Federal government can only enforce laws not the reduction of laws so the States and especially cities can do what they please in most cases that are non unconstitutional. I am a Veteran and enlisted in the Marine Corps at 19, dropping a full college scholarship to enlist after 9/11-2001 (9-12-2001 to be exact). What disgusted me about the situation was as a kid I had no idea what war or death is. It was sad to see kids jumping around to go to war and be so naive to the forces at play. And yeah a lot of countries had to deal with licking Bush balls and I apologize. When he was my boss I couldn't say anything but now that he isn't... (fck Bush, fck Bush, f*ck Bush!). I suppose no one ever truly has a democracy do we? We get to choose names out of a hat and the decisions are never ours to make. Only to take.

Btw FOLLOWED and Upvoted. Thanks for the reply!

Thats part one. You wont hear this on CNN. This is what people think. The ugly, good and bad. But someone needs to be there or else no one will really know what people are thinking. I would love to hear what you have to say about the post.

It's very important that the message gets spread out. Islam and Sharia do not belong in western democratic society. Let it in, and Sharia will totally destroy your democracy.

Thanks for posting this.

Firstly thanks for the reply and opinion. The sad part is that I think Democracy is under attack from all angles and sometimes terrorism is the least of our problems but it is the broader aspect that we should be focusing on. What's important and should be the focus is the success of our people rather than power in the world. Our country could be feeding everyone, providing better wages and quality of life. We could and would have enough jobs but it's way easier to have power, and simply live the good insulated life of a US Politician and let yourself become a huge piece of sht. Our Politivians have no spine and when we finally get one that will say no we are focusing on America and not on war. They won't let him and if Hillary was POTUS you can bet the farm that she would have boots on the ground in Syria and mounting a Naval and Marine force in the S. China Sea with Australian Air Support and airfields to launch attacks on North Korea because she is a warmonger and is Claire Underwood basically but not nearly as good looking and goofy as hell. The first female President should be a roll model not someone who feels entitled because she was the First Lady to a popular POTUS despite his Impeachment 💁🏻

Thank you! resteemit back And upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55011.75
ETH 2337.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34