The Absolute Best Way To Track Irma & Other Hurricanes

in #news7 years ago

Don't waste your time watching the weather channel guess at what is going on with hurricanes, here are two free resources I use to track all the storms and they are more reliable and correct than any other source you'll find.

(www.giphy.com)

My family got hit by hurricane Hugo when I was a kid and I watched trees fall in my yard and we were out of power for over a week. Since then I've always kept a keen eye on storms. Over the years, I would watch the news, but the Internet has changed everything.

Now I only use two resources to track the progress of storms and track daily when there is a threat like the current big storm named Irma. 

The Best Website To Track Storms

MyFoxHurricane.com is the best ever... period. At least right now. They have all the models and tracking that every local news source uses. This is the place to go. 


Whenever I track storms as they are getting closer I use the Extended GFS Precipitation Model. This goes out 384 hours from the most recent readings and projects forward. Irma is changing her path daily, but this model has been the best to watch. You just click on it and hit play. Watch what the track is 384 hours out.

On the home page, scroll down until you see this section. Pick the third one from the left on the top row.


There are bunch of different models to check out and explore, but I'm just telling you the one that I use the most and I have found to be the most accurate.

Here is what it looks like when you pick the model. Notice the time stamp at the bottom right to know when the storm  might make landfall. This picture depicts Irma striking Miami around midnight on September 10th going into the 11th.

MyFoxHurricane is a great resource. I highly recommend it.

BPEarthWatch

Now when it comes to going a little deeper, I've watch tons of meteorologists, but there is one guy who is almost always exactly right. His name is BPEarthWatch on YouTube. Here is his most recent video. He is a little unorthodox, but I started following him around Sandy and he has been right every step of the ways since.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Both of these two resources make it easy for me to track the storms and I don't have to waste my time watching the news or weather channel... who is always more dramatic than necessary or totally oblivious like they were with Harvey and that cost people lives and property. 

I hope these help you if you are interested. I find that they save a lot of time and are more right than anything I have found. If you know of another great resource, let me know in the comments.

To my followers, you help me track success in my future and I thank you.


Sort:  

Thanks. That is good information. I live between Houston and Galveston Island. We are still cleaning up from Harvey. We are watching Irma very closely!!!

I'm gald you are alright after Harvey. What a terrible storm. Thanks for the reply and stay safe down there.

A couple of really good sources. I especially enjoyed BPEarthWatch. Technical but some really indepth information. Thanks for sharing them.

Thank you and I am glad you liked BPEarthWatch. He is a little rough around the edges, but the guy is right on the money. Thanks for the reply.

Great article! Good on you for keeping people safe!

Lol, I love that picture. It just proves that science has ALL the answers. lol. You got a new follower.

Thx got some Familly in the FWI!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59956.07
ETH 2524.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49