Does your Insurance Cover Snake Bites? Insurance denies $200K in medical bills after son recovers from Snake Bite

in #news6 years ago

Pygmy Rattle Snake.jpg

Monday morning, 6-year-old Kyden Debyah, was playing in his backyard when he was bitten by a pygmy rattle snake that was coiled up underneath his tire swing. Thankfully the mother was very vigilant and quickly identified the type of snake and was able to get the boy to the hospital in order to get the proper care and antivenom he needed.

Rattle Snake.png

Snake Anti-Venom Treatment

CroFab.jpg
Source
The anti-venom for snake bites is call CroFab. CroFab is a sheep-derived antivenin indicated for people have been bitten by rattlesnakes, copperheads and cottonmouths/water moccasins.

Each person generally receives 4 to 6 vials of antivenom depending on the initial severity of symptoms. This dose will then need to be repeated if the initial dose not appear to have stopped the progression of symptoms such as redness, swelling, and pain. However, once the symptoms are controlled and the bitten area does not appear to be progressing anymore, an additional two vials will be given every 6 hours for the next 18 to 24 hours. As you can see from the chart below and the general recommended dosing of antivenom, each person general requires anywhere between 4 and 18 vials of antivenom.

CroFab Dosing.png

The Cost of Snake Anti-Venom

Each vial of CoFab antivenin costs around $11,000. As you can see from the quote from the boy's mother, he required 18 vials of anti-venom at $11,000 each, which equals $198,000 in total, just for the antivenom.

“The anti-venim is, $11,000 per vial, our cost. He had 18 of them.”

This does not even take into account the cost of the hospitalization stay, since each person is required to be monitored in the intensive care unit (ICU) while being treated in the hospital.

Now normally, you'd think that hopefully this family has insurance and they will only be responsible for a fraction of the entire medical bill since they are insured right? WRONG!!! In fact, the family has insurance but it does not cover snake bites! The insurance company said their contracted cost for the antivenin will be adjusted but could be anywhere from $10,000 to $20,000!!! To me that is just simply egregious!!! Beyond that, looking at the price increase of CroFab over the years sheds more light onto the price gouging pharmaceutical companies are doing to their drugs. For instance, the price of CroFab in December of 2000 was $1,937.50 per 2 pack of vials. In 2009, this price rose to $1,200 per vial. In 2012, it rose even more to $2,000 per vial and now in 2018 it is at $11,000 per vial.

Let me leave you with this simple question. What else in any other market, other than drugs, has seen that kind of price rise over the years? Even worse these are life saving medications!!

To put this into comparison even further, from the end of 2014 to september 2017, Bitcoin rose over 2000% and had reached national news. Yet, from 2009 to 2018 the price of snake anti-venom has risen just about 1000%, insurance companies aren't covering it, and not a sole is talking about it.

Sort:  

Fuck that!! That's awful. I have plenty of major qualms with the medical AND health insurance industry :(

Ain't that the truth man. Just read you're most recent post and am sure you can relate from a health insurance stand point as well. Over the past couple of months tho. I've just really started to notice just how bad the price gouging by these pharmaceutical companies are getting, which in turn is causing insurance companies to not cover these drugs anymore and people are being left footing the bill themselves. Its just a negative cycle all around especially when people are forced to buy health insurance. Something needs to change so hopefully by bringing awareness to stories like these one at a time will hopefully catch someones eye and start the change process. Just my optimistic outlook tho.

I think we're at the brink of a lot of positive world change :) I don't mean "at the brink" as in the next few years, but my optimistic outlook hopes to see it in our life time. We'll see. I did think of my recent medical experience when I read your article but in the main scheme my issues are very minor so I kept my mouth shut :) But yes, that was maybe my first time going to a hospital in half a decade. That doesn't sound like a big deal but I get hurt, a lot, through various outdoor activities and being a dumb broke punk and what not. I just recently got health insurance because, as you said, I was forced to. So that worthless trip to the hospital was the big experience I've been waiting for, and all I ended up with was a misdiagnosis and a bill I can't pay for awhile.

As we talked about before, I'm hoping for big positive change as well :) Thanks again for your article and thoughtful response @tspink!

I hope you're right and that we see some positive change in our lifetime as well. Thankfully thats all you ended up with tho. at the very least. Thanks as well for stopping by and checking out my article :)

Yikes! I have auto-immune disease and no longer take any of the Rx drugs indicated because they are so toxic. When I stopped in 2013, one of my weekly injections was $4000 per week. I and most people I know do not go through insurance for these expensive drugs. Instead you get them through programs offered by the manufacturer. I had to fill out a bunch of forms each year and then got the injections for $5 a week. Who knows what that scam is - maybe they were getting paid by the government.

As a former collector for medical bills I know that if you do not pay for two years, the provider writes off your bill and collects from their own insurance. Then after 5 years it will disappear off your credit report. I would change my phone numbers and wait it out.

I'm coming to you from @kryptonia with the same user name.

Wow! At least you were able to find a safe heaven with some of the manufacture programs offered. I didn’t know that however with regards to letting medical bills laps. I’m sure it would take a toll on ones credit but depending on the size of the bill may be a serious option. Will have to keep that in the back of my pocket just Incase!

It is bedtime for me now. Thank you for the nightmares!

Haha you’re welcome! Thanks for stopping by!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Oh no, the cost of the anti-venom is too expensive! Upvoted by rubelynmacion of krypto

Luckily no snakes here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62934.82
ETH 3119.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86