Kevin Spacey comes out as gay amid apology to Anthony Rapp for alleged sexual advance

in #news7 years ago

Content adapted from this nydailynews.com article : Source


700069219rm046-european-pre.jpg
Kevin Spacey revealed Sunday that he’s gay. (TIM P. WHITBY/GETTY IMAGES FOR SONY PICTURES)

Kevin Spacey opened up about a longstanding Hollywood rumor when he came out as gay Sunday night.

Amid accusations from Anthony Rapp, the “American Beauty” star revealed that he has had relationships with men and women throughout his life.

“This story has encouraged me to address other things about my life. I know that there are stories out there about me and that some have been fueled by the fact that I have been so protective of my privacy. As those closest to me know, in my life I have had relationships with both men and women,” Spacey, 58, said.

“I have loved and had romantic encounters with men throughout my life, and I choose now to live as a gay man. I want to deal with this honestly and openly and that starts with examining my own behavior.”

Late Sunday, Rapp Accused Spacey of trying to seduce him when he was 14, which Spacey said he didn't remember and blamed on "what would have been deeply inappropriate drunken behavior."

Spacey hinted at his sexuality at the 2017 Tony Awards in June during an opening skit with Whoopi Goldberg, who came “out of a closet” on stage.

“Whoopi, how long have you been in that closet?” Spacey asked.

“Well, Kevin, it depends on who you ask,” Goldberg responded.

In drag as “Sunset Boulevard’s” Norma Desmond, Spacey began the lyrics “I’m coming out” before pausing.

“No, wait, no,” he said.

In 2010, Spacey called coming out "a line I've never crossed and never will."

"I don't live a lie. You have to understand that people who choose not to discuss their personal lives are not living a lie. That is a presumption that people jump to," he told the Daily Beast.

"Look, at the end of the day, people have to respect people's differences. I am different than some people would like me to be. I just don't buy into that the personal can be political. I just think that's horses--t. No one's personal life is in the public interest. It's gossip, bottom line. End of story."

Over his career, Spacey has racked up an impressive trophy room, including two Academy Awards, a Tony Award, a Golden Globe Award and 11 Emmy Awards.


Disclaimer : Account @tone1994 is not affiliated with nydailynews.com. I read nydailynews multiple times a day to find the best articles and reformat them for Steemit. I appreciate the upvotes but consider following the account and resteeming the articles that you think deserve attention instead. Thank you! Head over to nydailynews.com for a more complete news articles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45