The Polished Man project - Painting a Fingernail to bring Awareness to Child Abuse

in #news8 years ago (edited)

I've noticed a few foreign guys with a fingernail polished on the train lately, and I finally figured out what it's all about.

An Aussie guy named Elliot Costello started this project after visiting Cambodia and working with an amazing little girl who had been sexually assaulted at a very young age. She would paint her nails and then painted all his nails.

He was shocked to learn that on average 1 in 5 children worldwide will experience some type of sexual violence, and he took this idea of this young girls nail painting his nails by paint just 1 in 5 nails to symbolize this abuse.

He stated the Polished Man project to spark conversations and bring awareness to this sad level of abuse happening in our world. And due to the fact that it is roughly 96 percent of this abuse is caused by men, so this is why he felt it was key for this project to be focused on men. The ladies, of course, are more than welcome to join in, and a lot of jumped on board to help as well.

It stated in Austrailia but it's starting to spread to other countries around the globe. And even professional athletes and celebreties are starting to get involved.

They say to participate you just select a nail to paint and then try to keep it on for at least a week to see what awareness you can bring to tthis terrible tragedy force on young innocent kids around the world.

I painted one of my finger nails with a black marker, and I'm going to have my daugther paint on the Steem logo. Here is the real photo with the transparent logo added to it to show what it will look like.

Help end Violence Against Kids. Website with details: https://polishedman.com/

Sort:  

love these viral support symbols - I quiet often paint just one nail ( silver glitter one this week) usually to see if i like the colour and leave it on for the .....now it will have another meaning! great post

Dude.... just getting up here and have a cup of Seattle's best. I saw your post, and this is way cool. You know I've always been into helping the abused and neglected. So I'm going to do this too once the wife gets up, and I can convince her to give up some of her polish for the cause.

Going to watch the Hawks season opener at the local sport bar on Sunday, so it should spark some interesting conversations. But just like me, I think the folks I talk to will be surprised that 1 in 5 kids are abused before 18 yrs old... just sick and wrong!

It's amazing the shit the human soul can over come! This is a very good idea

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66