You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pentagon's Defense Logistics Agency loses track of $800m

in #news7 years ago

I remember driving around southern Baghdad in 2007 with our Iraqis. I had $5000 cash in my pocket in a plastic baggie. We would spend it on whatever we needed. We bought 3 sheep that they butchered and prepared on the floor of an abandoned building that we were staying in. We bought spare tires for their trucks.

All we had to do was get a piece of paper signed by the person we were buying from. I still remember the face the sheep hearder was giving us as we were explaining it to him.

He wrote 3 sheep and signed his name in Arabic and i gave it to Finance guys on the FOB. They gave me more money :)

Crazy days,,

Sort:  

That's crazy. There is no accountability for any money the government spends.
I just hear all kinds of stories just like that.
The falling knife is coming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54