The Gun Debate: Common Sense Must Prevail

in #news6 years ago




Now that a few days have passed since the horrific school shooting in Florida, I would like to go over some common sense solutions that would help prevent this from ever happening. But first, let me premise this by saying soft targets are impossible to protect from a homicidal maniac that wants to kill people. It can be done with a car, a hammer, some drugs or numerous other things.
I am a father and want nothing more than my daughter and her classmates to be safe at school. So here is what I would do if I were in charge.
1. A minimum of 1 fully armed cop (could be ex military vet or National Guard) on the outside and 1 on the inside of every school in America. This should be done IMMEDIATELY.
2. A see through fence is put around the campus of every school with only 2 access points that are constantly monitored.
3. Medal detectors. These already exist at most Public High Schools here in Chicago. I have walked through them and been patted down while wearing a suit for a meeting with the Superintendent.
4. A national "811" number to dial similar to "911" in which you can anonymously report someone that you may be concerned about.
5. Funding to help with mental health in this country.
6. 5 Year Mandatory Minimum sentence for anyone caught with an illegal gun.
7. All new guns must have finger print I.D. so only the proper owner can use them.
8. Government cuts 1% of EVERYTHING in its budget to pay for all of this and use the remaining money to go towards the debt.
Objections? Let me hear them.

Sort:  

I believe if the people had a lifestyle change, chaos would not happen. Chaos cannot shine through order. There is disorder in the places where tragedies occur.

Thanks for the input! Since you are living it, what changes would you make at your school?

How about the closure of the private seller loophole, waiting periods for guns (1 week for handguns/ 3 months for rifles), a limit of the number guns an individual can buy, a centralized gun tracing system, and a more extensive background checking system that looks at mental health/school records. These are some of my ideas but I thought most of your ideas were very interesting. Also, in number seven do you want guns to be created that only activate if the owner uses them? Do they make any like that?

Thank you for reading and commenting. Yes, most guns are now made like that but it is not Federally mandated. I am now following you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59159.54
ETH 2599.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42