Best Buy to STOP selling CDs!

in #news6 years ago

The retail giant will no longer be selling CDs in its stores very soon. What does this mean for the future of physical music???

Feel free to leave any thoughts in the comments, best responses get upvotes.

Sort:  

The truth is a very sad fact! it does not matter how much the world of music has evolved ...

They stopped stocking CDs. They probably haven't actually sold a CD since like 2009.

Kind of sad that the CD is going away. Like vinyl, CD's have a certain sound quality that I think is lost in the digital world. While yes, I use digital heavily, I still listen to my old CD's. Digital has taken away some of the journey that CD, Cassettes and Vinyl took us on when listening to an album. So many albums and bands that I listened to back in the day were stories that needed to be engaged completely to get the full effect. Sucks to see the technology fading away. They probably said the same thing about Hi-Fi and wax cylinders as well though.

As a portable medium, the CD had something over vinyl, but since the available additional headroom was quickly used up, it fatigues the senses. Compared to the USB Flash Drive, SD card or Micro SD card, the CD is now the bulky antiquated storage medium. The local record store here never went out of business and still sells Vinyl to an audience that feels the same fatigue I do when listening to digital max. headroom mastered perfection. So we put up with the snap, crackle, pops.

I still buy CDs. What a shame. Luckily I don't buy them from Best Buy so this doesn't particularly effect me. Lololol.

best buy to stop selling CD's to revive napster.

I agree, physical cds are a thing of the past.

welcome to steemit. I will vote for you. Follow me and I follow you

I was listening to a live podcast last night and this dude came on promoting his new CD and everyone shat on the fact that no one would buy it. CD's are still relevant I don't get why everyone thinks we have to all use Aux chords in our cars now hahah.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60569.85
ETH 2584.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69