Breaking News - Carrie Fisher Dead at 60.

in #news8 years ago


Image Source


I'm Sorry to Say We Have Another Celebrity Death To Add To The Long 2016 List:

Following the news that Carrie Fisher suffered heart problems on a flight from London to LA, it has been announced that she has died.

The following is an excerpt from the People.com website:

Carrie Fisher, the actress best known as Star Wars‘ Princess Leia Organa, has died after suffering a heart attack. She was 60.

Family spokesman Simon Halls released a statement to PEOPLE on behalf of Fisher’s daughter, Billie Lourd:

“It is with a very deep sadness that Billie Lourd confirms that her beloved mother Carrie Fisher passed away at 8:55 this morning,” reads the statement.

“She was loved by the world and she will be missed profoundly,” says Lourd, 24. “Our entire family thanks you for your thoughts and prayers.”

I would recommend reading the article as it has a nice biography too.



Image Source



Image Source



Image Source



Image Source


Is 2016 The Worst Year For Celebrity Deaths?

I think if anything the slew of deaths this year has shown us how fragile life is. None of us know how long we have left.

To many young men of a certain age, Carrie was one of our first crushes.

As the sassy, smart and always classy Princess Leia she represented an ideal and was one of the most memorable and beloved characters of the original trilogy.

This feels strange to me like another part of my childhood has died - coming so soon after we lost George Michael, Prince and so many others who were icons of my early childhood life.

Whilst we say goodbye to Carry Fisher we can also celebrate what she achieved. Unlike most people she will have a kind of immortality in the films she made and in all of our imaginations.

For me she will have a special place in my heart as my first innocent movie crush.

R.I.P. Carrie you will definitely be missed.



If you like my work please follow me and check out my blog - @thecryptofiend


Follow me on Gab.ai or on Twitter


All uncredited photos are taken from my personal Thinkstock Photography account. More information can be provided on request.


Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


HTML tutorial


Sort:  

RIP Princess Leia. She is now One with the Force.

Another amazing actress has left. R.i.P

Yes let's hope she is the last this year.

She was certainly a nice lady from seeing her in interviews and reading her writing. She didn't pretend she was perfect and that's part of what I really admired about her.

Slow down mate. I don't know anything about you. Do you have an introduction post?

You don't really say much do you? I have looked at your blog and I don't really see a proper introduction there. If you consistently post good content I will follow you but right now I am following a lot of people so I can't just add everyone.

Was so excited to see her in last year's star wars after all these years... RIP. Thanks for posting this!

You're welcome.

Thanks. Nice intro post. Welcome:)

Cool lady... She had no problem letting the world know she was just like us all -- a real human being. She will be missed.., I wish her well on her journey...

Yes for sure she will be missed.

Sad news. If I was a celbrity I'd wrap myself in bubble wrap and not leave the house for a few days.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.63 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 27 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I found out this news from your article and I cannot believe it!! This year has been so tragic, just a few days after George Michael... what is going on? Luckily only a few days left for this terrible year!

Yes it is really crazy isn't it?

Indeed.... Let's hope 2017 is better!! Any plan for the new year celebration?

I'm just going to spend it with family. I have some friends who might be coming up to visit just before but I don't think they will be able to stay for the day itself. What about you?

Just me and the hubby spending it at home quietly. Where we live, we can actually see the fireworks near the London Eye from our window so that should be fun. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58