You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Spot Non-partisan Objective Trustworthy News Sources

in #news7 years ago

As an accountant I try my best to practice "professional skeptisicm" and these are my basic rules regarding "news".

  1. Needs to be proven - I try to do my own homework. If a story doesn't cite a source it immediately goes into the suspect category.
  2. Read the abstract - "Study shows silly putty linked to VD" you don't need to read the study just look at the abstract and you can gather really valuable data about sample size, population...many articles cite scientific studies and pull statistics out of context to fit their narrative.
  3. Use Social Media - If the story came from your friend that wears their Make America Great Again hat every day the story is probably truthy at best. Same goes for your friend with the Prius with the Bernie Sticker with a I'm with HER sticker over the top of that.
  4. Don't be part of the problem - If you don't know if it is true don't spread it
Sort:  

I have been distracted, but greatly appreciate these basic rules. I do not want to be part of the problem, which is why I wrote in 1st place. Thank you thank you for sharing your wisdom and offering useful tips! I appreciate you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44