Is Blackberry Making A Comeback?

in #news7 years ago (edited)

Blackberry have not been doing too well over the last 5 years, however, this may be starting to turn around, let’s not forget they made the world's first smartphone.
It seems now more than ever people are starting to wake up to mobile security and this has been blackberrys USP from day one. Blackberry have also been known to talk about using blockchain technology.

bb chart.jpg

TCL the makers of Alcatel now build blackberry handsets with fall updates and support from blackberry.
BlackBerry’s executive chairman and CEO John Chen said the company is poised to return to profitability within the next 12 months, after it began to gain traction in key areas of its renewed strategy during its fiscal Q4 2017.

The new CEO has rapidly changed the way blackberry do things, they now work closely with TCL to continue to give unrivalled security updates as well as pushing forward on other projects such as enterprise software and in-car systems for luxury cars inc. jaguar .

bb car.jpg

Blackberry also has a highly anticipated handset launch imminent, Marketing the blackberry KEYone as the most secure android in the world. A batch of phones went on sale before the official launch date at Selfridges department store, Oxford Street London and they all sold out within an hour.

I have a handset on preorder for 5th May and will post my review here

Do let me know your thoughts and comments... where do you see Blackberrys Future or is it too little too late.

Steve

TecAV

Sort:  

IMPRESSIVE!

BB and Android

What is the asking price Steve?

Its £499 in the UK

Fully Android
4.5” scratch-resistant display
Convenience Key
8MP front camera with flash
12MP auto-focus large pixel rear camera
Fingerprint Sensor hidden in space bar

I have been needing a new phone for months and been waiting for this.... would you still consider buying a blackberry in 2017?

Let's just say I had one of the 1st BB when it came to the U.S.

Have you ever had to use a scroll wheel on the side of the phone which allowed you to also push it to select functions and navigation. That is well before the introduction to touch pad and touch screens that we have today. I am interested and watching how BlackBerry does with it's new KEYone before I buy. At least I still enjoy my BlackBerry Pearl. ;)

Yes I had the pearl years ago, very good phone... from what I have read you can create navigation shortcuts on the KEYone by holding down f for facebook or I for Instagram which should make things easy and quick to use. I think we are about to see the rise of blackberry again as the timing is perfect... we will see if I'm correct, however, I think if they don't make it happen this it's their last chance.

Not worried. Having an UNLOCKED BB is necessary for worldwide travel. I carry a TABLET mostly all the time as well so I don't have to be tied down to a PC or even laptop. Completely MOBILE 24\7

you have to be now days and i do the same, buy a local pay as you go sim when i get to where I'm traveling to, as i have been ripped off before for roaming charges and not letting that happen again lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81