Sort:  

Entirely agree with you!
I took a short afternoon nap and when I woke up I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw just early shots of the fire in the news.

And I still don't get that logic of the decision (whoever it made it) of not dropping the water from an aircraft for the purpose of alleged saving structural integrity.

In my opinion, and seeing the size of fire at earlier stages they would had a way bigger chances to save at least something, now we all can only cry over the burned remains.

Posted using Partiko Android

We were discussing that at work today, the problem with air fire tankers may well be the area the water covers when dropped it cannot be as pinpoint as say Helicopter tankers, and an air tanker dropping water would cover a large area and may also damage surrounding properties,
and also one of our French colleagues, said the tankers that are in France are in the other side of the country and would have taken a long time to get there

Well, as they say, it's easy to be the general after the end of the battle. Still I can't get rid of the feeling that it would end up better if they used aircrafts.

I know that the tankers in France are located at or closer to the coastal part of the country, but it's not more than 2 hours fly (if even so).

I don't know. They evacuated the area anyway, and if I was there on charge I would make that decision to rather repair the roofs or else of nearby buildings than loosing an eight century old monument, which besides Eiffel Tower is the biggest Paris' landmark.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes your right its easy to think things out from a distance and it would have been great if they could have prevented so much damage, but I guess its there area of expertise and they know better than me

I hope too that the experts maid a right decision. It would be interesting to see as well, and when the investigation will be done, what caused the fire in the first place.

Posted using Partiko Android

I did see that one of the officials from France did a post saying the firefighters did all they could to control the fire and evaluated using aircraft tankers but it was felt they could have destroyed the whole structure and hence did not use them

Yeah, I've read somewhere that there was 400 firefighters involved in this fire extinguishing, what's really a huge force.

Posted using Partiko Android

WOW that is a huge force I knew it would be a lot I did not realize it was that many

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57889.17
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42