Breaking News: Surfing the New York blizzard - That´s what freedom is about!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #news7 years ago

New York is in the middle of a decent Nor’Easter right now. However, that doesn´t prevent some people from following their passion.

In Long Beach, which has seen 3 to 4 inches of snow during the past two days, along with ice and slush, the PIX11´s morning news team accidentally ran into a surfer coming out of the huge waves. 

Sometimes what you´re most afraid of doing - is the very thing that will set you free.

Freedom is never given - it is won

It may be another (random) analogy for today´s happenings on steemit. 

Life definitely begins when we step out of our comfort zone, when we find our limits - and then exceed them. It surely needs much bravery to follow ones passion although the environment is not very supportive.

However, there is nothing more beneficial than experience. 

Back to the news: It´s been the very first time a surfer had been live interviewed during a New York blizzard! That guy rocked :) 

14th of March 2017:

 


What do we learn from this story? 

If you want to experience something new, you have to do something you´ve never done. There may occur things you can´t predict. But that´s actually the most exciting part of an adventure. 

Only the ones who swim against the stream have the opportunity to see something others don´t.

Enjoy the ride :)
Marly - 


Picture source title image: http://q.likesuccess.com/
Kennedy quote: http://c.quoteson.net/

Sort:  

Oh my gosh, how cold! But what an awesome thing to do :D

That's why he wears a suit... ⛄️🤓😁
You are right: it must be pure fun! An insane type of fun, but still fun lol

Those suits help a lot then? It's so hard to imagine it makes much of a difference! But I've never used one, so I wouldn't really know... :-)

Sure, they do!! There's a fine water layer built between your skin and the suit. It gets warm thanks to your body heat and then works like a natural blanket. The only parts that still suffer are your extremities that cannot be covered (hands / feet / head).
Regardless I always prefer surfing in warm water with a short suit which provides more flexibility ;)

Smart people have made them huh! Sounds good enough and to be fair, my hands and feet would be cold either way!

Yes, warm water does still sound better ;-)

Lol, first time surfer...

Haha yes! That part was hilarious 😆👍

Wow... yeah... that's some cold stuff. I watch the local "surf club" members go out in all sorts of weather here, too... including ice storms, in mid winter.

I've never worried too much about being a "pioneer" and trying things others think are nuts... it's always an "adventure," to be sure.

"There is no bad weather, just the wrong clothes," my kindergarden teacher - called Rosy - used to say. I was 3 years old when I learned that - since then, weather conditions haven´t ever stopped me from doing what I love. It seems that your "local surf club members" were told the same...;)
I wouldn´t call myself a pioneer either, but I love going on adventure!
Thanks for stopping by @denmarkguy, I always enjoy chatting with you. Have a great day!

OK, I have to say the guy is probably lucky to have survived...

Good screaming grief! HIS FIRST TIME? When I got to that part of the video, I could not believe what I was hearing... Wow, I think the guy must be either lying or not playing with a full deck... SERIOUSLY? Who does that?

I'm glad he got out alive... ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

LOL - yeah it was surely NOT his first surf! :)
It seems that some people are even more crazy than we are ...

Hard to believe, at least in my case... ;) :D

No kidding I was terribly afraid of leaving my closet open when going to sleep. I'm in my mid fifties, last year the irrational fear went away. I started orginzing and cleaning my closet once a month and my life long fear finally faded away...now I actually have to look for fear because most of them are gone.

"Cleaning" processes are always a good way to face fear. Thanks for the insight and I am glad you got over it!! 😉👍

Me too, now it's time to fly or maybe learn how to surf.

I definitely recommend surfing! 🏄🏿👈🏿🙃

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.75 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 15 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

That's incredible. I have the utmost respect for people who will go to those lengths for their passion.
I live near Ithaca NY, and don't get me wrong, at the beginning of winter I love the snow. I downhill and cross country ski, snowmobile, and still love to go sledding...but come March- I am done, especially with the dreary grey skies. So waking up to this view outside of my bedroom window this morning...if I was a crier, there would have been tears ha!:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37