You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mass Shootings Are a Symptom of a Problem That Gun Control Won't Solve

in #news6 years ago

But guns do make it easier for those who are mentally ill to kill and harm much more people than they could've with a knife. I wrote a poem about this, titled "An Open Letter to the United States of Guns", but no matter how much we talk about it, or how much awareness we raise, without a blanket ban on guns, we ain't gonna achieve much.

Sort:  

I’m writing something right now about a blanket ban on guns. It’s a complicated issue. Yes, guns make it easier to kill people, that’s for sure. But knives, raming crowds with trucks and bombs are still successful.. guns can be built with easily accessible materials, guns can be 3D printed, they can enter the country illegally, etc.. with our without legal guns, someone who really wants to kill a bunch of people will unfortunately find a way. Personally I’m not a fan of guns. I don’t own any and I don’t want to. I’m just looking at the big picture of the culture that causes this.

You do have a point though! One of the major problems about the US is that there are simply way too many ARs that are in circulation. This makes it hard for gun control or blanket bans to work - people who have the intention to harm or kill can always figure out a way to do so.

Yeah.. I certainly don’t think we shouldn’t act when it comes to guns. But yes, people will that intention will find a way so a gun ban isn’t be golden ticket everyone hopes it would be. Here’s what I wrote —> https://steemit.com/guns/@emmafiala/is-gun-control-really-the-answer-the-big-picture-might-surprise-you

Thanks for sharing your article with me! I feel that we have a lot of similar interests, so I followed you as well! would love if we could connect on Steemit and support each other on this journey!

following! :) i'm relatively new to steemit but trying to get in the habit of coming here and writing often.

Same! I'm juggling a few writing projects at the moment, but I try my best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56609.34
ETH 2990.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16