You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: At Least 20 Victims in ‘Mass Casualty Event’ at Florida High School

in #news6 years ago

It's as horrifying and sad and senseless as all the others. Don't you miss the days when you (or your kids) could go to school without being concerned about someone coming in and shooting up the place?

During my brief career as a teacher, I was a second year teacher on the 1st anniversary of Columbine. There were so many rumors of a copycat event going down at my school, I was concerned it might actually happen. Fortunately, my classroom was in a portable, outside the main building and right next to the parking lot. I told my students, who were all seniors and only a few years younger than me, that if we heard shooting in the building, to get off school property as soon as they could, and I, myself, would be jumping in my car and getting out of there. Since we were close to the street, they all agreed that was an excellent idea. Fortunately, nothing happened, and I quit teaching soon after that. But, we never had to worry about this kind of thing when I was a student. What happened to our world?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67579.79
ETH 3758.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55