The Epic Tragedy at Standing Rock

in #news7 years ago

IMG_3059.JPG
The bold headline read, “The Epic Tragedy at Standing Rock.” As my group of eight highly motivated Advanced Social Justice classmates and I read solemnly through the story, we visibly sunk deeper and deeper into our seats. We couldn’t believe this brutal oppression had been going on for months and September was the first time we had heard about it. After a 6 and a half-minute period of silence we sprung into a period of intense researching, brainstorming, planning and discussing. Major infractions of justice are at play due to the construction of the Dakota Access Pipeline. The Native American tribe at Standing Rock who was promised their land due to the treaty of 1851, are not only having that stripped from them, but also their dignity. The desperate plee of the peaceful protestors to protect their diversity and heritage is being overshadowed by police brutality and a lack of action in their favor. Along with this, the tribe’s access to drinking water is at stake, as a dangerously vulnerable and less sustainable oil pipeline will be placed under the Missouri River. Waking up every morning, looking through social media, and discovering newly developing stories of injustice, cruelty and unsustainability such as the DAPL drive me to action.

Until recently, the purpose of protests has always puzzled me. I assume it is because the only recent protests I had really heard of had to do with politics or an issue I didn’t fully understand where violence has been involved. However, I attended my first protest in solidarity with those at Standing Rock on November 17th. It was beautifully artistic being surrounded by thousands of carefully decorated signs bobbing up and down to the rhythm of Native American tribal drumming. Through the pouring down rain phrases such as “Water is Life” or “Protect the Sacred” could be seen dimly illuminated by candlelight. For the first time since hearing about North Dakota, I felt encouraged that I was not alone and was overcome with peace because of the passionate spirit of those around me defending the same thing I cared about.

As I ventured through the halls of my school the next week, I received numerous phrases of sarcastic pushback such as “Build the Pipeline!” or “Pipes over people.” I could choose to easily detach myself from this issue because it has nothing to do with me. I live 3 states away, I never have to worry about water in Seattle, I am Caucasian and my rights aren’t being taken away from me. However, I value people and I couldn’t live with myself knowing I refrained from doing something to help alleviate the oppression if I had the opportunity to. Something needs to be done if one people group made in God’s image spends everyday thinking they don’t matter. I will continue to write letters to the Governor of North Dakota, send voicemails to the White House and participate in any other way that may even have a slight chance of helping.

The world is a beautiful place when a balance of diversity, justice and sustainability coexist. On the other hand, when one (or all three) is at stake, a domino effect of corrupt behavior occurs. If a circumstance of injustice is brought to attention at it’s beginnings or later attacked at its core, then there is a good chance that harmony can be revived and the beautiful environment that diversity, justice and sustainability creates can be protected. Because I admire those three words so much, I aim to make them my lifestyle. I will seek out multi-cultural experiences and racially diverse friendships. This is all in the pursuit of educating myself of issues of injustice and how to involve myself in the resolve as well as discover and appreciate areas where justice is present. Finding ways to encourage others maintain a lifestyle and habits that are sustainable and not depleting natural resources along with my own has also gained dramatic importance in my life. I am determined to find ways in which I can further a culture of diversity, justice and sustainability on my campus, in my city, country, and world.
IMG_3059.JPG

Sort:  

I couldn't agree more. “The Epic Tragedy at Standing Rock.” - speaks volumns to what happened. You write amazing keep it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13