Cognitive dissonance, can a whole country suffer from it?

in #news7 years ago (edited)

Bogota, Colombia - The Colombian government has reached a peace agreement with the Marxist-Leninist revolutionary peasant group called F.A.R.C. Before reaching the agreement it was put to a referendum and the population overwhelmingly voted No, yet the accord was pushed through by the government by the use of executive orders.

The F.A.R.C- was founded in the rural areas of Colombia during the cold war as an armed answer against imperialism, free-market, democracy and the right wing politics of the conservative party. It can be argued that the FARC is the extreme left armed branch of the Colombian liberal party, although it may not be perceived as such by the national population.

Funding - for the terrorist group has been accomplished through kidnapings ransom, cocaine traffic and the general abuse, murder and terror of the population. The tactics used by this group have been denounced by international organizations for committing crimes against humanity (Source). Regardless of their status as an international terrorist organization the government of Colombia headed by president Juan Manuel Santos Wiki.
has reached a peace agreement that would allow members of FARC to return to civilian life without having to pay for the crimes committed in the almost 50 years of the conflict.


The peace - agreement would give the leaders and members of the dissident groups full amnesty and huge plots of land under their control (About the size of Switzerland). All this is being funded by tax payer money, taxes being waged on a population that has been ravaged by war. Colombia has one of the biggest internal displaced populations, more internal refugees than any other American nation. Even more bizarre is the push by the national left leaning media to portrait the gorilla group as champions of freedom and hailed as heroes, being invited to a multitude of popular radio and TV shows.

Drugs traffickers, terrorist and murderers are idolized by the lefty main stream media in Colombia. Verily teaching people to believe in the cognitive dissonance they are being fed on a daily basis.

Sort:  

Nice article! I have upvoted your post, can you help me to upvote my post too? Thanks

Sure will and follow you as well....thank you for reaching out... @South-Paw

This post is a really interesting read for me and I think it would be interesting to read a more extensive version. I also want to ask you a question tough. I have been on Steemit for 2 days now and the ONLY thing I haven't liked about it is people telling you that they followed and then asking you to follow them back. I don't think that that is organic and I don't think it's going to benefit the platform as a whole in the long run. I am messaging you because you are the ONLY person who, despite putting "follow me" in the comment, I decided to click on because I was just too fascinated by the comment ( which was very constructive ) and the title of the article.

With your permission ( and with your permission only! ), I would like to use your example in my next blog in which I am going to try and discourage this kind of behavior. The reason is that it's a great example of not NEEDING to ask for a follow when you put up a quality comment like you did. Would you be ok with this?

First off thank you for reaching and and yes you may use the content as you wish, the article was short because am getting my writing chops back on, but soon I will start posting longer articles "cheers".


The Steem it strong with this one!

Hey, thank you for the reply but I am not talking JUST about the article. I also want to use the comment you left on my blog. It was very interesting and appealing but then you asked for me to follow you which is what I want to use as an example in the blog I am writing now. It was totally unnecessary imo. because I would have read your article for sure and then I would have probably followed you. I want to try and discourage this kind of behavior in the article that I am writing because you for one really didn't need to do it because your reply was so constructive the way it was without asking to follow back!

Please use any part of it, keep in mind that some people write their articles in code and specific links or add me buttons are written as part of the article, regardless use it.....unless I edit it....jkjk "cheers"

Alright I appreciate it. I will let you know when it's up and when you are uncomfortable with something I will make the edits you ask me to make (but I don't think you will be uncomfortable with anything about it!)

Hi, it's up in case you want to check it out and see if you want me to delete anything!

Looks good am not fisicious about how people write their posts as long as it's original, regardless thank you for your efforts and great articles

Good post my friend nice to me you i am @djnoel ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95