An Opinion of the Upcoming U.S. Presidential Election from a Non American

in #news8 years ago

We have it. It's two candidates. Trump vs Clinton. Following elections from the U.S. has always been interesting, not only because I lived there once upon a time, but also because the U.S. is one of the most influential countries in this world. So what's my take on it?

First, let me flat out say that I believe neither candidate really offers anything of substance. They both have quite dangerous policies and their foreign policy is something to be desired. They also seem to contradict themselves on every front, especially Mr. Trump. I believe it's all gas. Presidents before them promised things but never delivered. Can they actually deliver on their promises? I really doubt it, but I stand to be corrected on this.

Secondly, both candidates are two different shades of what's wrong with the system. Clinton is just a copy of the past few presidents, especially Obama. She's bringing the same thing that Obama brought to the table. Trump is new, invigorating but he thrives on people's emotions and feelings. That won't get him very far. Also as someone close to me has said, he is a terrible negotiator. I can see many countries becoming antagonistic towards him. 

Lastly, I feel this election can really define the world economy and safety. ISIS is rampant for example and Trump is playing his trump card on this one. He's all about taking the fight to this terrorist organization. Trump is also touching on issues which are at the heart of the typical white Caucasian person, and that is immigration, jobs, and terrorism. Clinton on the other hand is working the same strategy as Obama and I'm not so sure it will work. People are fed, even non Americans really. So she has to play this election smart and she can come out on top.

Whom do I predict? I think it is going to be TRUMP who is going to win it. He appears to have the charisma and energy that Clinton lacks. Also, he is so vastly different from a politician. People want a change and I think the American people may just take a risk. A very dangerous risk, albeit. For the rest of the world, it's wait and watch really. 

#USelections 

Sort:  

I think we are all fooled in the US.

One perspective, yes. I would have liked to see Bernie Sanders go independent but I'm not sure if he will or not.

We need a clean slate of real politicians across of all US. Mostly people who (not come from) but people in the poorest of neighborhoods now to become elected officials. (think about it.)

In my experience our country is myopic. I have traveled a lot and have learned that we are not the center of the universe. I love my country but I am not a fan of either choice. Thanks for your point of view.

Yes. Totally understandable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81