Call Me Weird But Pigeon Racing Actually Looks Pretty Cool

in #news6 years ago

I have been posting about my travels to China so this is rather fitting. I recently stumbled upon a video about pigeon racing and how the hobby is growing rapidly in China. Traditionally pigeon racing has been practiced in Belgium and Scottland but wealthy Chinese people are picking up the hobby like crazy. 

For the race, all pigeons are released from a single location several hundred miles away. The pigeons use their homing instinct to fly home and the pigeon with the fastest average speed wins, as some of the birds fly to different locations. 

I used to have a parakeet named Qui-Gon Jinn when I was a kid. He was a great pet and a fun bird. I think having a bird with a homing instinct would be kinda cool. 

Check it out:

Vice - China's Millionaire Pigeon Racers (Full Length)

Source: VICE

Hi there, I’m Will.  First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist.  I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in.  Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus.  All pictures are my own unless otherwise stated.  I release everything under CC0.  

My website: williamjohnsonlong.com  
My DTube: d.tube/#!/c/slickwilly
Affiliated Steemit Accounts: @bitcoinshirtz & @trueliberty  

My Previous Post  👉 Observing The Tiananmen Square In Beijing - Highlights Of Traveling China

Sort:  

Thanks for the great post about an cool topic. A cab driver in Chicago once told me he was involved in pigeon racing here in the US. He had been doing it for many years and it's interesting to note that he believes the cell phone towers can mess up the pigeons homing instincts. He said it used to be 100 out of 100 of the birds would make it to the finish line, but now it's only 95 out of 100.

Woah, that is crazy

Oh wow! That's super interesting!

it's the sport of kings, I knew a guy who was into it, he was always talking about how much he could get for a bird. If the Chinese are getting into it then it is probably a good investment.

That's something really interesting to look at :)

Hey, Let me show you my encounter with a pigeon.
He just fell from nowhere.

DSC00041.JPG

DSC00047.JPG

That sure is a nice way for the race and sounds really interesting !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44