The New One Plus 5 - Shots fired at Apple

in #news7 years ago (edited)

JUST NOW One Plus 5 had it's official launch and here I am talking about it like I know everything already. Nah, just sharing bits of my brain!


What does it look like?

PRETTY! That video sure did give me goosebumps. It's pretty thin and slick. It reminds me of an iPhone and I am not sure if that's a good or a bad thing. The size is the same as the One Plus 3, only a whole 0.5mm thinner. The weight also slightly decreased by 5 grams.

No 3.5 headphone jack?!

However, being too excited about the new One Plus 5, I couldn't help my disappointment when they said the new One Plus would not come with a 3.5 jack.

Even rumors went around that also the One Plus 5 had dropped the 3.5 jack, just like the iPhone 6. And that is also how they started out - until they didn't.

"On the bottom, you'll notice we ditched the 3.5 mm headphone jack. The elegance of the phone is instantly heightened. And who needs a headphone jack anyway? That's why bluetooth exists right?Just kidding, ofcourse the ONe Plus 5 has a heaphone jack right here on the bottom."

BOOM. I just had to laugh about that - take that, Apple. I almost bailed on this One Plus 5 with just that piece of information until he said he was kidding.


What about the specs?

Supersuper charging and more! It comes with a bigger RAM of 8GB. Also the new update of OxygenOS should make everything a little bit more smoother.


They seemed awfully happy about their custom made, Sony dual camera.

Like I mentioned before, and I am assuming the biggest selling point of the One Plus 5, is the dual camera. They went on about how great it is, the optical zooming, the focus, etc! At this point, I am just too curious and would love to find that out.


Conclusion

Dash Charging, ambient sensor etc., it all sounds cool but my friend who currently owns a One Plus 3 was slightly disappointed. Yes, it's thinner, yes cool camera, yes fingerprint sensor - but I guess we were waiting for something mindblowing.

I feel like it's always the same story: Thinner, better camera, better battery.

Disappointment increased later when they announced the price: € 499 in EU or $ 479. Damn son. That is some big increase in the general pricing..

I guess I am bailing here and will stick to my One Plus X for a little longer. Maybe I will invest in the One Plus 5 a bit later when I am about to travel and feel the need for this amazing camera they promise to have.

Check the stream out here!

Are you going to get it?

Pre order now with the following code: clearer photos



Also want one of these pretty footers? I do them for free! Check out this post for more information!

Sort:  

Looks decent, but is this a cheap flagship phone anymore? I think I'll stick to my Nexus 6P

With the amount they're asking, I really think they lost their positioning as a good, cheap phone :l I have high hopes for the OP6!

Heard a lot of this legendary one plus 5, you make me wanna have it grrr 😭 😜

Haha, why do you think it's legendary? :P

Anything Apple does revolutionises mobile technology and all other platforms begin implementing their ideas eg/ no headphone jack. ps: if you love science check my profile out!

Point is that one plus actually did its research and asked the community if they wanted Jacks. They did, so they implemented it still :)

Sooner or later the headphone jack will disappear though is what I mean

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75