THIS IS HOW YouTube KILLS FREE SPEECH

in #news7 years ago (edited)

by SGT, SGTreport.com:

On July 6th I received a STRIKE against my You Tube account for an interview I did with researcher Sofia Smallstorm. I uploaded that interview and posted it to You Tube ... 22 MONTHS AGO.

You Tube removed the interview two days ago claiming that it violated the community guidelines which prohibit "predatory behavior, stalking, threats, harassment, bullying or intimidation."

Because the video was removed by You Tube, I can no longer review it, but I can assure you that neither Sofia or I committed ANY of those violations as we lucidly discussed an "event", a shooting which occurred in Virginia. But since You Tube now acts as the judge, jury and executioner, FACTS no longer matter, only the charges, no matter how unfounded they may be.

And if You Tube can issue a strike against a conversation like that one, they can issue a strike against ANY content at ANY time for ANY reason. And THAT'S how You Tube will KILL free speech: One video - and one channel - at a time.


.

steemit  Shot 2017-05-20 at 8.49.49 PM.png

Sort:  

Hey SGTREPORt, Seriously consider making at least one more youtube channel so you can upload your videos there too if you get banned. It is ok to do this many channels due and tell your subs to sub to that so they know where to go. YT is going crazy with strikes.

Also, don't partner with Youtube's adsense, go find a MCN, Multi Channel Network. When I had my videos flagged they helped me get it resolved. IF you try to resolve it yourself with Adsense they won't get back to you, they only talk with higher up channels that have millions of subs. The reason to join a MCN is because they actually can talk to YT and get things resolved.

You would likely make 10% to 20% less money though since the MCn takes a cut, but I tink it is worth it. Seriously see if you can find a good one that lets you be free and do what you want to do.

Upvoted myself so you could see this comment(I have been in your situation). Let me know if you want to talk more about it dude :)

I up Voted your Comment too. I think everyone will be on STEEMIT that has great content on Youtube that way if all your content is here and you get PAID to have stuff on STEEMIT there is no reason to care about Youtube anymore. STEEM ON !!!

Re-upvoted truthforce, I will work on creating a backup channel. I technically already have one that I think is "officially" on You Tube AS "SGT report"... I started in 3 or 4 years ago. I better look into how the heck I did that and what email I used in order to revive it.

Are any steemians working on an alternative to youtube? It would be nice to remove all revenue to google/facebook/twitter etc......

Some YouTubers who've had their monetization shut off have been promoting Vidme as an alternative to YouTube.

Thanks, checking it out.

Despite their appeals to content creators, Vidme has censorship issues as bad as Youtube, I hear.

Of course you didn't violate anything...you have influence they know people listen to you so they're gonna keep attacking you.

They're fuckin done. Once Steemit adds the option to upload vids directly to this platform...none of us will need YouTube anymore. The blockchains will destroy them all so to that I say...FULL STEEM AHEAD!!!!!!!!

@mrdeerants

SteemIt eats ALL other social media???

I have a hard time seeing how ANY of these dinosaur social networks are supposed to survive ESPECIALLY if SteemIt adds a video option.

If SteemIt does that, Facebook and YouTube will BOTH become the new MySpace of social media LOL!!!

What's left after a hostile takeover of Facebook and YouTube?

I believe we will see the fall of Facebook and YouTube with the rise of SteemIt.

Sean @sgtreport i'm glad to see you on SteemIt! #SteemOn!!

they will end up killing themselves like CNN

dj, right on, CNN is such toast - an implosion the likes of which we've rarely ever seen

We are leaving the free speech era and enter the permitted speech era. It is a gradual process.

Remember kids, commies don't fight fair. They use theft, force, lies, diversion, propaganda, censorship, violence and terrorism to achieve their ends. steemit allows free speech, rewards content providers based on audience support and wraps it all up in a crypto blockchain of the future. This is the first time I've ever heard of a win win win win situation in my life....

Blockchain technology will change how the word works and social media patfoms that promotes free speach and open discussion, will emerge.

very truth and yet you tube is the one who is killing its own self by forcing people to leave

Don't get me wrong, YouTube have a RIGHT to censor videos, however they like. It's not like content uploaders HAVE to use YouTube. We know YouTube is monitored and controlled by evil people at the top, so why persist using it?

To me, it represents an opportunity for another video platform to be created. Have any alt-media celebrities backed an alternative, yet?

Freedom of speech is priceless, we risk losing it with our silence.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29