SECURITY: WHAT DOES THE AIR STRIKE IN SYRIA MEAN?

in #news7 years ago


published by: Alec One

I'm not sure what I would do in a situation of having to decide if a country, that uses chemical weapons to kill humans,should have their weapons immediately destroyed. I have heard the thoughts of others debate if the President of the United States of America has the authority to make a decision like this. I also wonder what others would do if they had to make this decision themselves.

I don't have the same intelligence as President Trump, but I do have the same public intelligence as the other media outlets. Which means I can form my own opinions regarding the air strike and share my thoughts with the world.


What happened:

  • The United States fired Tomahawk missiles into Syria.
  • The strike was conducted using Tomahawk Land Attack Missiles, or TLAMs
  • The strike targeted Shayrat Airfield in Homs governorate.
  • The strike was in response to the Syrian government's chemical weapons attack, that killed or injured hundreds of innocent Syrian people, including women and children.
  • The U.S. took extraordinary measures to avoid civilian casualties and to comply with the Law of Armed Conflict.

Why:

  • Shayrat Airfield was used to store chemical weapons and Syrian air forces.
  • The strike was intended to deter the regime from using chemical weapons again.
  • The use of chemical weapons against innocent people will not be tolerated.

My Understanding:


I don't believe I have enough knowledge regarding the complete situation in Syria to make claims of what the POTUS should have done. I do feel the airstrike was necessary to prevent further Syrian human pain. I also think the world will become safer when the International community comes together to reduce human tragedy. And on that note, I will close out and go enhance my mind with substances...


Source: Statement from Pentagon Spokesman:Capt. Jeff Davis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59263.92
ETH 2580.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46