YouTube under attack right now! Ourmine hackers are back.

in #news7 years ago (edited)

Chaos right now all over the YouTube platform as about 29K videos' titles and descriptions have been replaced with the following: "OurMine Are Back!... ( Read the description ) Hey, it's OurMine don't worry we are just testing your security, please contact us for more information" plus a website link and and an email address.

See for yourself: type "OurMine Are Back" in YouTube's search bar, then look at the number of results...

Just, WOW ;)

Update: it looks like many of the hacked accounts are celebrity/quasi-celebrity/verified youtubers...

Update #2: found some info here @ https://www.reddit.com/r/h3h3productions/comments/62vzxx/hacked_by_ourmine/

Update #3: it's all over Twitter already > https://twitter.com/search?f=tweets&vertical=default&q=%23ourmine&src=typd

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.04 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Exactly what I thought when I found out, lol :))

Now this is entertainment!!! Thanks for alerting the populace to this. So funny! Followed you, btw.

Yeah, actually I think I'm gonna spend the next hour or so on YouTube to see what happens :) Exciting times we live in ;)

Loving this. Feels like the 90s security scene again! The fuckin' feels!

I couldn't agree more, man! :D It's rock'n'roll ;)

Update: it looks like many of the hacked accounts are celebrity/quasi-celebrity/verified youtubers...

I'm still hoping that this isn't an April fool's joke and that this is a true compromise. Either way, it rules haha.

No, I really don't think it's an April fool thing, too complex to be just that, imho.

I don't think that it is either, but if it is, it's one elaborate ass prank. Gotta weigh all odds!

Lol, if it is a prank, then they're making history :D :D

Well if you were to exploit YouTube's infrastructure, how would you make it known with doing the least damage while still getting the street cred? By doing what we're seeing.

Probably yeah

Just 29k? What percentage of vids is that? Go big or go home

What are you even talking about? If you can't realize the implications of what is being pulled off, you need to read some books.

As an old troll, I do. I'm just not that impressed unless the damage is notable. Targeting niche accounts in the hack isn't all that impressive and there is no humor element behind this that I can see. It's just stupid. Now if they got half the accounts out there randomly, then that'd be something to talk about.

I think the attack just started a few mins ago, possibly...

I'll check back tomorrow to see if I'm impressed in that case

I'm curious, too ;)

Amazing, must have been months of work. Wow

Yeah, surely lots of work to accomplish that. Not easy.

I saw this today on one of the channels I watch. I'm glad they didn't hit mine.

It looks like they are targeting specific groups of channels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51