You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: China has finally completed the largest floating solar park in the world!

in #news7 years ago

Hi @valth, interesting post. I wonder if maintenance on floating devices, will add to the cost? This could cancel out the benefit of the panels lasting longer. I know there were some studies where the motion of the water was converted into electricity, perhaps they can combine the two systems with the floating solar panels.

Sort:  

I would expect the maintenance on these floating systems to be more expensive than the ones on land, but I don't really know the numbers. As far as I understand, the company that made these are not currently selling them to private people, so they have not really told the public about the costs.

I actually learned about the tidal wave electricity a while back. As far as I remember, it can be a great source of energy, but cost were way to high. I also think there was a lot of trouble with maintenance. Those tidal systems are in saltwater, so they get destroyed a lot more quickly than these solar parks (which are in fresh water).

Thank you for the nice reply

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54290.46
ETH 2276.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31