You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TIL - A terminally ill 14 year old girl won the right to have her body cryogenically preserved before she died

in #news8 years ago

I need to read the continuing article but I would assume the costs would be tremendous. I have only heard rumors about wealthy or famous people doing this. Is there a university, institution or foundation funding this? I don't know where I would stand. My wife and I are Catholic but we are also both scientists. Either way, as a parent you just hope that you would never be put in a situation like that. Interesting but tough story. You just messed me up crypto. Where's Rachelle at? : )

Sort:  

I think it costs about $100K dollars for your full body but you can get your head frozen for less.

What is the point to having just a part of your body frozen? This is beyond creepy. :D

It is but the idea is that you would be able to grow a new body and reattach it.

This is getting hilarious in a creepy way. :D

It is always creepy. I don't think I could ever have it done to me. Even though I would be dead. How irrational is that? The idea of the liquid nitrogen and the confined space bothers me - even though I won't know it or shouldn't as far as we know. I still have the irrational fear that I would somehow be conscious of it.

Also thought I don't believe in reincarnation having thought more about it - there is no way of knowing for sure. What if it did lock you in some kind of weird limbo? I'm just glad I don't have to think about it. I think that girls situation was exceptional. If I die now at least I know I have been given a fair chance at life which she wasn't.

BTW - I find the paranormal fascinating even though I am a skeptic. Have you ever listened to Mysterious Universe - it's a podcast where they discuss these topics including reincarnation a lot. I believe there was a physician who looked into the topic a lot - Ian Stephenson.

No, I haven't heard of it. I simply read a lot and I also have a lot of personal experience, because of my 21 years of yoga practice.
I am glad people talk about the realities that science can't yet explain or accept - at least open minded persons can get a glimpse of a vast and complex alternate reality.
Science is rather rigid, I'd say - not very long ago they'd scoff at the idea of humans being able to fly - and now we're all moved from the reality of planes to chemtrails and other such stuff :))
Examples could go on.
I'm not a believer; I simply accept that many things are real or at least possible even if I don't know for sure; I also work on expanding my consciousness and experiment within boundaries I deem safe for me.

Ok. I heard a lot about this years ago when San Diego local, Ted Williams died. I think he froze his head. Anyways, thanks for sharing, have a good weekend.

I instantly thought of Futurama when reading about the "head only part".

I know right. Almost like Total Recall or something.

There was also a long running rumour about Walt Disney but that isn't actually true.

Anyways, thanks for sharing, have a good weekend.

Thanks you too:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56890.04
ETH 2356.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39