Our Country is Burning, while our World is Melting!

in #news4 years ago

images (12).jpeg

They said "You used to be my favourite Instagrammer. Now you've become dull and political.”

Quite true. I too, feel dull and political. In fact, most of my life, I had found politics to be deathly dull. My Dad had to force me to read the paper and when he wasn't looking, I'd head to the crossword and get away with it.

images (11).jpeg

Over the years, I kept getting away with an apathetic, "But the News is always so depressing..." and then the slightly cleverer, “You know, I just don't think it's right to speak up about the things I'm not equipped to speak about." And I'd tell myself that as long as I was being a good human being - kind, fair and honest, my battle was fought and won.

images (9).jpeg

But how long can we get away with just being good human beings? Especially, when the intersection of what's happening around us and what we stand for as good human beings, glares so explicitly in our faces? In simpler words, these small battles aren't enough because our country is burning, while our world is melting. And in Ben Franklin's words, "Justice will not be served until those who are unaffected are as outraged as those who are."

images (6).jpeg

So read. Educate. Share. Follow. Unfollow. Read more.
Recognise the privilege you have, in simply just being UNHARMED.
Do whatever you like, but do something.

Sort:  

Congratulations @rumanahaaris! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68643.84
ETH 3277.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67