China launching "Fake Moon" Satellite for Artificial Light??? How is this a good idea!!

in #news6 years ago

full-moon.jpg

Yep, you heard me right. China plans to launch a satellite that blasts artificial light at night in order to eliminate street lights. It will be brighter than the moon and can illuminate a 30 mile area.

https://www.theguardian.com/science/2018/oct/17/chinese-city-plans-to-launch-artificial-moon-to-replace-streetlights

So this is what I wonder . . . . What will be the side effects of this light? Wildlife surely will be affected and probably in a negative way. Just another invention to benefit mankind without the consideration of the other species on this planet.

How would this neverending light affect humankind as well? I would imagine adverse psychological effects of never being able to access true night time. Sleeping conditions maybe?

All for getting rid of street lights, which are already in place. I sure would hate to live in an area that has a constant glow of light, I think it would drive me crazy!

What do you think of this idea?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62