Facebook To Launch Dating Features - NO THANKS

in #news6 years ago (edited)

As if Facebook wasn't already bad enough, they've decided to launch some dating features.

Apparently Tinder, Plenty of Fish, Bumble, Match, OK Cupid, Grindr etc etc etc simply weren't enough.

4fa2cc205ae8249b6553f86db35efc90.jpg

Nope, Zuckerberg has to stick his meddling fingers into any pie possible, and it sucks.

If you opt in for the service, strangers will be able to stalk your profile, and that really doesn't seem ideal to me. I don't really want a potential partner to be digging into a decade of my history before we even say hello to each other.

Anyway, if you like what you see, you'll be able to contact said individual through a separate messaging app. No doubt this will be a new-to-download app, bloated with targeted advertising and other kinds of nasty things to spy on your every move.

If there's one redeeming feature, rumour has it that your current 'friends' won't be able to see that you've opted in for the dating features. I guess that would save people a bit of embarrassment.

Honestly, I'm just so sick of Facebook. I think it's time to convince friends and family to move over to Steemit so we can all get rid of our profiles once and for all.

Will you be making use of the new features? Let me know below.

Sort:  

In my opinion, I find this idea stupid as there already are so many other dating sites/apps as you mentioned. But I kinda get why they want to add it...Probably because already so many people are using facebook so the matching would be much easier the more options there exist. And a bigger opportunity that even out of curiosity people would try it. I just hope that there will be an option to not participate in the dating feature.

Great comment! Albeit our opinions may differ ;)

Yeah, you'll need to actually opt in for the features so that's the one plus side.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56690.25
ETH 2380.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33