You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mozambique’s historic double cyclone never before seen just north of my border leaves over 600 dead and four countries reeling

in #news5 years ago

Allow me if I may, there are many charities that are not on the take, but our field is like the rest of the world. A few big name bad apples on the take have blackened the charity name.
Now the smaller charities have to struggle to get their work done!
Blessings!

Sort:  

That is why I support a charity in my area supplying a meal to an elderly couple daily. The bad apples have ruined it for everyone else and it will be hard to get it back.

Glad that you are supporting a worthy charity my friend.
I don't think the charity name will ever be restored. Too many snakes around.
I even hated it when it was suggested that our tag name here should be @papilloncharity to best explain our work, as we go way beyond charity work, but what's done is done.
Fortunately there are a few here on steemit that know us and our work and we are used to the struggle.
Blessings!

I agree the name has been tarnished and a lot of it is down to the Directors of charities who rake in fat cat salaries skimming off the top.

Ha! Some of these same fat cat directors have approached us in the past for partnerships. A guy from a big name charity stopped in the latest Mercedes Benz car at our place and he offered me a lucrative partnership.
He had heard that we passed a full investigation by a US charity umbrella organization and that we received the award of a "Top-Rated NPO"
Of course he was also after our credits, but I cut him short very quickly and sent him away.
Yet another one offered me a directorship at his charity for a huge salary and benefits.
Then many others see the establishment of a charity as quick riches, but thankfully they don't last very long.
It is a sick world my friend and I don't think it is going to get any better soon.

Very sad to hear that. I came across a huge charity that flies everyone around to various conferences wasting all the money which could be used on the charity itself. They like the jet set lifestyle and all the perks that go along with it.

Charity work is a calling my friend. NOT a job and if one is not prepared to sacrifice and to live among the poor, how can one then expect the trust and the love of the people that one claims to be helping.
Just the other day we approached a professional fundraiser to take over my duties, as I had a major operation and was told to slow down.
Well her charges for a day is equal to my monthly salary.
And so we struggle along as usual, but now in our 18th year, I can assure you that we will never stop!
Blessings!

I also believe it is a calling and not a job even though it is a full time job. If you don't believe in what you are doing and have a different agenda you are just cheating the people you are trying to help. I just wish it was like an open book and not a minefield .

Hahaha, I think very little in life is an open book my friend.
Sadly obfuscation is the name of the bewildering game my friend.
All that we can do is to trust in the small voice that answers from our gut.

Good points all round in your comments. I lived in a community for 10 years where we were never given a slary but all did purely volunteer work. This was in my 20s and we would go into the poor black squatter camps and feed 300 people at a time about to or three times a week. I would cook in a big pot on a gas stove and fill three big bins of veg and rice stew with lentils which was very nutritious. It was a fulfilling service and no salary was ever needed as all our basic needs were covered in the community. No one had a car of their own and we used the communal vehicles and all had tasks as a team. Life could be fine like that... until you have a family and kids which then requires a lot more resources to raise them I presume.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60898.61
ETH 2626.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61