Ruben Loftus-Cheek hopes to force his way into England World Cup squad

in #news6 years ago

1.jpg

Ruben Loftus-Cheek is still holding out hope he can force his way into the England squad for this summer’s World Cup.

The 22-year-old, on loan at Crystal Palace from Chelsea, returned to action against Huddersfield on March 17 after missing three months with an ankle injury.

He was not part of Gareth Southgate's squad for the recent friendlies against the Netherlands and Italy, though he remains in the thoughts of the England boss.

Loftus-Cheek has just seven games left this season, beginning with the visit of Liverpool to Selhurst Park on Saturday, live on Sky Sports, to show Southgate he belongs on the plane to Russia but he is optimistic he can do it.

Ruben Loftus-Cheek was man of the match on his England debut against Germany in November

"The ankle is feeling much better and I feel fitter than I thought I would feel," Loftus-Cheek told The Evening Standard.

"I feel sharp in training so I am not too worried about my fitness. If I do get all seven games it is enough for me.

"I have spoken to Gareth. He did not say much, he just asked how my injury was. He wished me all the best for the games to come.

"It would be massive for me to go to a World Cup. That is what I am aspiring to but that will come from my performances with Palace at the end of the season."

SOURCE: Skysports

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43