The Ugly Side Of Race/Hate Crime: Indian Engineer Shot Dead In Kansas.

in #news7 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

As somebody who grew up in Kansas, I am horrified by this. Trump's election, his executive orders, and having white supremacists all through his administration has unleashed the worst of some folks. It's encouraged people to act on their anger and hate. I am so sorry for Mr. Kuchibhotla's family.

As for the government response, I quote below from an article in the news

The Trump administration, however, dismissed as “absurd” any correlation between the President’s remarks on immigrants and the Kansas shooting. “Obviously, any loss of life is tragic, but I’m not going to get into… to suggest that there’s any correlation I think is a bit absurd. So I’m not going to go any further than that,” White House Press Secretary Sean Spicer told reporters.

This was in response to a statement by the widow to the Kansas City Star, that she,

would go to India for her husband’s funeral but would come back to their home in south Olathe, Kansas City, to fulfill her husband’s wishes of an American life and for “me to be successful in any field I choose”. But before making that decision, she said, “I need an answer from the government. …What are they going to do to stop this hate crime? Not everyone will be harmful to this country,

I'm not surprised by that one bit. And we have immigrants to the US now fleeing through the snow into Canada, because they are afraid to be here in America. This is not our finest hour. I'm hopeful that attitudes turn around here sooner than later.

The world is a cruel place sometimes. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88